The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Int. Grounding from shotgun

How can you call an illegal forward pass if the QB is in a shot gun formation and presumably there is a RB with in 2 yards of him throwing the ball down to the ground? If I'm wearing the WH and this happens in a game I'm going to rule for an incomplete pass set the ball up and blow it ready for play
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
How can you call an illegal forward pass if the QB is in a shot gun formation and presumably there is a RB with in 2 yards of him throwing the ball down to the ground? If I'm wearing the WH and this happens in a game I'm going to rule for an incomplete pass set the ball up and blow it ready for play
I know you cant get into the mind of the qb but from the play explained you can pretty much tell the intent of the play.

Just because there is a receiver in the area does not mean you can't have intentional grounding or illegal forward pass.

If the player is trying to conserve time or avoid a big loss you may have to judge his intentions.

Yes I will give the player the benefit of the doubt but will take a good look at it before i decide.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
How can you call an illegal forward pass if the QB is in a shot gun formation and presumably there is a RB with in 2 yards of him throwing the ball down to the ground? If I'm wearing the WH and this happens in a game I'm going to rule for an incomplete pass set the ball up and blow it ready for play
I can call an illegal forward pass because he obviously is not throwing it to an eligible receiver.

I have never seen a QB throw this clock-stopping pass anywhere but directly to the ground. The only difference between this pass and the legal pass to stop the clock is the position of the QB. Both passes are thrown to the ground, not near an eligbile receiver. I've never seen a shotgun formation where there was a back on the ground at the feet of the QB waiting for the pass.

As a WH, you do not have the option of ignoring the rule and the intent of the rule.

This is an illegal forward pass that will carry a 5-yard penalty and loss of down from the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 10
Intentional grounding

Actually, this is intentional grounding, not illegal forward pass. The pass is behind the LOS, so it is legal. (7-5-1 defines this) This actually falls under 7-5-2-d which, if you look at the penalty summary at the end of the section, clearly calls it intentional grounding.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by raider
Actually, this is intentional grounding, not illegal forward pass.
REPLY: Intentional gounding is most certainly an illegal forward pass. In the penalty section for 7-5, they distinguish intentional grounding because of its own special signal. But intentional grounding is clearly one of the illegal forward passes. Here's the rule...

"ART. 2… An illegal forward pass is a foul. The illegal forward passes are:
a. A pass after team possession has changed during the down.
b. A pass from beyond the neutral zone.
c. A pass intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver.
d. A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time.
e. A second or subsequent forward pass thrown during a down
EXCEPTION: It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forward to the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap."



Quote:
Originally Posted by raider
...The pass is behind the LOS, so it is legal. (7-5-1 defines this)
REPLY: How exactly does the fact that the ball was grounded behind the neutral zone make it legal???
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
I can call an illegal forward pass because he obviously is not throwing it to an eligible receiver.

I have never seen a QB throw this clock-stopping pass anywhere but directly to the ground. The only difference between this pass and the legal pass to stop the clock is the position of the QB. Both passes are thrown to the ground, not near an eligbile receiver. I've never seen a shotgun formation where there was a back on the ground at the feet of the QB waiting for the pass.

As a WH, you do not have the option of ignoring the rule and the intent of the rule.

This is an illegal forward pass that will carry a 5-yard penalty and loss of down from the spot of the foul.

Now throw this twist into it: QB is getting rushed and sees his RB trying to block and he throws it as his RB's feet obviously avoiding the sack but you don't call that an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. WHY???? Because you always say he had an eligible receiver in the area!!!! Same thing as being in a shotgun formation and spiking the ball, just that he is not being rushed and you're going to call illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. I see why the coaches get screwed up and yell at us the way that they do because you're not being consistant. If you don't call it when the QB is being rushed you better not call it when he is not being rushed!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 02:13pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
Now throw this twist into it: QB is getting rushed and sees his RB trying to block and he throws it as his RB's feet obviously avoiding the sack but you don't call that an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. WHY???? Because you always say he had an eligible receiver in the area!!!! Same thing as being in a shotgun formation and spiking the ball, just that he is not being rushed and you're going to call illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. I see why the coaches get screwed up and yell at us the way that they do because you're not being consistant. If you don't call it when the QB is being rushed you better not call it when he is not being rushed!!!!!!
Context matters.

It most certainly is a foul in a spiked shotgun. It certainly isn't a foul if the QB, under pressure, puts it at the feet of the RB.

As for the coaches, I couldn't possibly care less what they think.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Context matters.

It most certainly is a foul in a spiked shotgun. It certainly isn't a foul if the QB, under pressure, puts it at the feet of the RB.

As for the coaches, I couldn't possibly care less what they think.
According to the rules: IT IS A FOUL IF THE QB IS UNDER DURESS AND THROWS THE BALL AWAY TO AVOID LOSS OF YARDAGE OR TO CONSERVE TIME!!!!

Under pressure and throwing at the RB's feet IS THROWING THE BALL AWAY TO AVOID LOSS OF YARDAGE!!!! AGAIN if you don't throw the flag for this cal YOU CAN NOT throw the flag for being in a shotgun formation and doing the same thing!!!!

CONSISTANCY!!!!!!!!!!!! OBVIOUSLY A FEW OF YOU DON'T HAVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 22, 2007, 01:03am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
According to the rules: IT IS A FOUL IF THE QB IS UNDER DURESS AND THROWS THE BALL AWAY TO AVOID LOSS OF YARDAGE OR TO CONSERVE TIME!!!!

Under pressure and throwing at the RB's feet IS THROWING THE BALL AWAY TO AVOID LOSS OF YARDAGE!!!! AGAIN if you don't throw the flag for this cal YOU CAN NOT throw the flag for being in a shotgun formation and doing the same thing!!!!

CONSISTANCY!!!!!!!!!!!! OBVIOUSLY A FEW OF YOU DON'T HAVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
Excuse me while I cry cause you yelled at me. Boo hoo. Oh, I can do whatever I like, too.

And the word is consistency. With an "e."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Excuse me while I cry cause you yelled at me. Boo hoo. Oh, I can do whatever I like, too.

And the word is consistency. With an "e."
I'm glad you are not in our organization. Its people like you that give the good officials a bad name. Why don't you do us all a favor and QUIT!!! You "can do whatever you like" So you think you are above the rules. Well in my eyes you're nothing more than pond scum and you would never officiate a varsity game in our organization.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
Now throw this twist into it: QB is getting rushed and sees his RB trying to block and he throws it as his RB's feet obviously avoiding the sack but you don't call that an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. WHY???? Because you always say he had an eligible receiver in the area!!!! Same thing as being in a shotgun formation and spiking the ball, just that he is not being rushed and you're going to call illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. I see why the coaches get screwed up and yell at us the way that they do because you're not being consistant. If you don't call it when the QB is being rushed you better not call it when he is not being rushed!!!!!!
Who said I'm not going to call intentional grounding if he throws it at his feet? Thou makest strange assumptions.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
Now throw this twist into it: QB is getting rushed and sees his RB trying to block and he throws it as his RB's feet obviously avoiding the sack but you don't call that an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. WHY???? Because you always say he had an eligible receiver in the area!!!! Same thing as being in a shotgun formation and spiking the ball, just that he is not being rushed and you're going to call illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. I see why the coaches get screwed up and yell at us the way that they do because you're not being consistant. If you don't call it when the QB is being rushed you better not call it when he is not being rushed!!!!!!
These are two different situations. The spike is legal only within a very specific set of circumstances. It is not legal from the shotgun, and in that case breaks this rule: "A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
These are two different situations. The spike is legal only within a very specific set of circumstances. It is not legal from the shotgun, and in that case breaks this rule: "A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time."

Yes they are two different situations but both have the same ending. Both are throwing the ball away to conserve time or loss of yardage. I love how everyone seems to think its ok to throw the ball at the RB's feet when the QB is being rushed but what is he trying to do (hint...doesn't want to get sacked) avoid loss of yardage!!!??? So my point is if there is an elligible receiver in the area when the QB is throwing at his feet when the QB is being rushed and you let that go then justify throwing an intentional grounding call when the QB is in a shotgun formation and has an eligible receiver in the area and throws the ball to the ground. I know its a judgement call and you are not in the head of the QB but we all know what he is doing when he throws the ball at his receiver's feet when he is being rushed.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
Yes they are two different situations but both have the same ending. Both are throwing the ball away to conserve time or loss of yardage. I love how everyone seems to think its ok to throw the ball at the RB's feet when the QB is being rushed but what is he trying to do (hint...doesn't want to get sacked) avoid loss of yardage!!!??? So my point is if there is an elligible receiver in the area when the QB is throwing at his feet when the QB is being rushed and you let that go then justify throwing an intentional grounding call when the QB is in a shotgun formation and has an eligible receiver in the area and throws the ball to the ground. I know its a judgement call and you are not in the head of the QB but we all know what he is doing when he throws the ball at his receiver's feet when he is being rushed.
What you are missing is the specific rule that specifies the legality of spiking the ball to stop the clock. You seem, however, to just be wanting to argue instead of learn. I don't have the energy for just arguing right now.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 25, 2007, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
What you are missing is the specific rule that specifies the legality of spiking the ball to stop the clock. You seem, however, to just be wanting to argue instead of learn. I don't have the energy for just arguing right now.

I know the specific rule and what it states. There also is a specific rule on intentional grounding and we all seem to overlook that rule "because there is an elligible receiver in the area"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Free Blocking Zone and the Shotgun (NFHS) UmpJM Football 16 Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:49pm
Motion penalties in shotgun formation psu77 Football 12 Mon Oct 11, 2004 04:18pm
Cut Block? Shotgun Formation BoBo Football 25 Mon Oct 04, 2004 03:59pm
Low Blocks & Shotgun parepat Football 4 Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1