Quote:
Originally Posted by raider
Actually, this is intentional grounding, not illegal forward pass.
|
REPLY: Intentional gounding is most certainly an illegal forward pass. In the penalty section for 7-5, they distinguish intentional grounding because of its own special signal. But intentional grounding is clearly one of the illegal forward passes. Here's the rule...
"ART. 2… An illegal forward pass is a foul. The illegal forward passes are:
a. A pass after team possession has changed during the down.
b. A pass from beyond the neutral zone.
c. A pass intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver.
d. A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time.
e. A second or subsequent forward pass thrown during a down
EXCEPTION: It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forward to the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap."
Quote:
Originally Posted by raider
...The pass is behind the LOS, so it is legal. (7-5-1 defines this)
|
REPLY: How exactly does the fact that the ball was grounded behind the neutral zone make it legal???