The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
Int. grounding from shotgun snap

In a freshman game tonight, A was lined up in shotgun. The QB took the snap from about 3 or 4 yards from the center and threw the ball forward into the ground. Refs let it go. Two plays later, did the same thing.

Did I miss the meeting where this rule was changed? I thought in order to spike the ball, it had to be a hand to hand snap.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 09:06pm
MRH MRH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
You are correct, in order to legally spike the ball the snap must be hand to hand.

This should have been called an illegal forward pass. 5 yard penalty from the spot of the foul and loss of down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 20, 2007, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North
Posts: 69
Spiking the ball

Rule 2 - D Directly from the rule book

It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forward to the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Int. Grounding from shotgun

How can you call an illegal forward pass if the QB is in a shot gun formation and presumably there is a RB with in 2 yards of him throwing the ball down to the ground? If I'm wearing the WH and this happens in a game I'm going to rule for an incomplete pass set the ball up and blow it ready for play
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
How can you call an illegal forward pass if the QB is in a shot gun formation and presumably there is a RB with in 2 yards of him throwing the ball down to the ground? If I'm wearing the WH and this happens in a game I'm going to rule for an incomplete pass set the ball up and blow it ready for play
I know you cant get into the mind of the qb but from the play explained you can pretty much tell the intent of the play.

Just because there is a receiver in the area does not mean you can't have intentional grounding or illegal forward pass.

If the player is trying to conserve time or avoid a big loss you may have to judge his intentions.

Yes I will give the player the benefit of the doubt but will take a good look at it before i decide.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesels
How can you call an illegal forward pass if the QB is in a shot gun formation and presumably there is a RB with in 2 yards of him throwing the ball down to the ground? If I'm wearing the WH and this happens in a game I'm going to rule for an incomplete pass set the ball up and blow it ready for play
I can call an illegal forward pass because he obviously is not throwing it to an eligible receiver.

I have never seen a QB throw this clock-stopping pass anywhere but directly to the ground. The only difference between this pass and the legal pass to stop the clock is the position of the QB. Both passes are thrown to the ground, not near an eligbile receiver. I've never seen a shotgun formation where there was a back on the ground at the feet of the QB waiting for the pass.

As a WH, you do not have the option of ignoring the rule and the intent of the rule.

This is an illegal forward pass that will carry a 5-yard penalty and loss of down from the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 10
Intentional grounding

Actually, this is intentional grounding, not illegal forward pass. The pass is behind the LOS, so it is legal. (7-5-1 defines this) This actually falls under 7-5-2-d which, if you look at the penalty summary at the end of the section, clearly calls it intentional grounding.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
I can call an illegal forward pass because he obviously is not throwing it to an eligible receiver.

I have never seen a QB throw this clock-stopping pass anywhere but directly to the ground. The only difference between this pass and the legal pass to stop the clock is the position of the QB. Both passes are thrown to the ground, not near an eligbile receiver. I've never seen a shotgun formation where there was a back on the ground at the feet of the QB waiting for the pass.

As a WH, you do not have the option of ignoring the rule and the intent of the rule.

This is an illegal forward pass that will carry a 5-yard penalty and loss of down from the spot of the foul.

Now throw this twist into it: QB is getting rushed and sees his RB trying to block and he throws it as his RB's feet obviously avoiding the sack but you don't call that an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. WHY???? Because you always say he had an eligible receiver in the area!!!! Same thing as being in a shotgun formation and spiking the ball, just that he is not being rushed and you're going to call illegal forward pass or intentional grounding. I see why the coaches get screwed up and yell at us the way that they do because you're not being consistant. If you don't call it when the QB is being rushed you better not call it when he is not being rushed!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 23, 2007, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
I have never seen a QB throw this clock-stopping pass anywhere but directly to the ground.
That's only since they legalized the spike. Before that, you'd've seen them throw it high over a sideline receiver's head.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 09:24am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckrog64
In a freshman game tonight, A was lined up in shotgun. The QB took the snap from about 3 or 4 yards from the center and threw the ball forward into the ground.
CANADIAN RULING:

Legal. Deliberate grounding has two musts:
  1. avoid a loss of yardage
  2. no eligible receiver in the area
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Fri Sep 21, 2007 at 09:47am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Free Blocking Zone and the Shotgun (NFHS) UmpJM Football 16 Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:49pm
Motion penalties in shotgun formation psu77 Football 12 Mon Oct 11, 2004 04:18pm
Cut Block? Shotgun Formation BoBo Football 25 Mon Oct 04, 2004 03:59pm
Low Blocks & Shotgun parepat Football 4 Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1