The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southeastern Mass near RI
Posts: 14
Free Kick

A free kick by Team A rolls out of bounds untouched by B at Team B' 37.
A 25 is offsides on the free kick. Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?

There are 2 fouls on the play, free kick out of bounds and A25 offsides.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Without looking at all i am hoping we have a dead ball encroachment penalty by B and dont even let the play begin.

just my first instinct
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Tried to edit my first post sorry cant figure that out.

My bad A was offsides not B

Kick never happens

Dead ball offsides on A

A rekicks from A's 35
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
bobo,
the poster is from the Southeastern Mass near RI area... They use NCAA rules.

(edit) as far as editing, return to you post and there is an EDIT button on the bottom
right. Just click on it and you can edit away.

I just added this message plus a specific "mass" area to my original post and underlined it to show you that was changed. try it, it's not too hard.

Last edited by Theisey; Tue Sep 12, 2006 at 12:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Taking the ball at the 37 is essentially declining the kick out of bounds penalty, so yes, sure, you can take the 5 for offside. You could not accept both fouls though.

What's this by bobo implying that you would stop a freekick if A went offside? Where do you get this notion? Of course you don't stop the kick - B can tack on the 5 or make A rekick.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
There is no option of adding the 5 yards to the end of the out of bounds play. Per 6-1-2-a penalty, 5 yards from the previous spot, 5 yards from the spot where the dead ball belongs to Team B after Team B's run or the spot where the ball is placed after a touchback. Since the kick went out of bounds there is no Team B run.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
"Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?"

No. Wording of rule allows B to elect to have the procedural penalty (offside on A) enforced from the dead ball spot at the end of the run. If B elects to accept the OB spot, then they have accepted the penalty enforcement for a kick OB at the OB spot (therefore there is no run) and we cannot enforce two penalties on the same play.

We can only enforce 1 penalty, kick OB, or the procedural penalty for offside, not both.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGardner
"Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?"

No. Wording of rule allows B to elect to have the procedural penalty (offside on A) enforced from the dead ball spot at the end of the run. If B elects to accept the OB spot, then they have accepted the penalty enforcement for a kick OB at the OB spot (therefore there is no run) and we cannot enforce two penalties on the same play.

We can only enforce 1 penalty, kick OB, or the procedural penalty for offside, not both.
Roy, Jason's explanation of this makes more sense. You are making the assumption that the acceptance of the ball at the 37 is a penalty enforcement, when in fact the declining of the penalty for kicking the ball out of bounds would put the ball at the 37. I accept Jason's correction of my original statement, as with the wording of the penalty there must have been a run or a TB. I know it's splitting hairs.... but it is what it is.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
I stand corrected. Accepting the ball at the 37 is as stated accepting the result of the kick (at the OB spot) and is not accepting one of the 2 penalty options (re-kick or 30 yards from kick spot).

The correct reasoning is that there is no run, therefore no end of run for penalty enforcement purposes.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southeastern Mass near RI
Posts: 14
We came to the same conclusion on our board, can only enforce one penalty. This will help some of our doubting thomas's we have.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by eprov
We came to the same conclusion on our board, can only enforce one penalty. This will help some of our doubting thomas's we have.
Thanks
Except that it's only 1 penalty being enforced. Read Jason's response for the right answer.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
What's this by bobo implying that you would stop a freekick if A went offside? Where do you get this notion? Of course you don't stop the kick - B can tack on the 5 or make A rekick.
bobo was replying assuming NFHS rules, under which this is a dead-ball encroachment foul. We blow it dead immediately, back it up 5 yards, and re-kick.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
OK so let's change this around a bit. NCAA rules:

Team A's free kick is bouncing around the Team B-38 yard line and is (a)muffed out of bounds by B1 at the B-40, or (b) recovered by B1 at the B-40 with his knee touching the ground. A25 was offside at the kick.

Assuming Team B wants to accept the offside penalty, their choices in (a) are to have Team A rekick from the A-30 (no other option), and in (b) to rekick from the A-30 or tack 5 yards on from the B-40, 1/10 from the B-45 even though there was technically no actual run.

Is this correct? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2006, 04:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
"Assuming Team B wants to accept the offside penalty, their choices in

(a) are to have Team A rekick from the A-30 (no other option), and in

(b) to rekick from the A-30 or tack 5 yards on from the B-40, 1/10 from the B-45 even though there was technically no actual run."

Answers to both a and b are correct, but there is a "run" in b. For a, no run, therfore no enforcement from the end of the run option, but in b per NCAA rules, there is a run that begins and ends when B recovers the ball while grounded, so B can accept enforcement from the DB spot in this case.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free kick yankeesfan Football 7 Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:20am
Free Kick nelson_28602 Football 2 Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:48pm
free kick cheese38 Football 1 Sun Oct 26, 2003 11:32am
Free Kick nelson_28602 Football 7 Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:52pm
Free Kick chayos Football 8 Sun Oct 05, 2003 08:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1