Thread: Free Kick
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2006, 01:37pm
RoyGardner RoyGardner is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
"Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?"

No. Wording of rule allows B to elect to have the procedural penalty (offside on A) enforced from the dead ball spot at the end of the run. If B elects to accept the OB spot, then they have accepted the penalty enforcement for a kick OB at the OB spot (therefore there is no run) and we cannot enforce two penalties on the same play.

We can only enforce 1 penalty, kick OB, or the procedural penalty for offside, not both.
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote