The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Free Kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28254-free-kick.html)

eprov Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:56am

Free Kick
 
A free kick by Team A rolls out of bounds untouched by B at Team B' 37.
A 25 is offsides on the free kick. Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?

There are 2 fouls on the play, free kick out of bounds and A25 offsides.

BoBo Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:01pm

Without looking at all i am hoping we have a dead ball encroachment penalty by B and dont even let the play begin.

just my first instinct

BoBo Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:05pm

Tried to edit my first post sorry cant figure that out.

My bad A was offsides not B

Kick never happens

Dead ball offsides on A

A rekicks from A's 35

Theisey Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:28pm

bobo,
the poster is from the Southeastern Mass near RI area... They use NCAA rules.

(edit) as far as editing, return to you post and there is an EDIT button on the bottom
right. Just click on it and you can edit away.

I just added this message plus a specific "mass" area to my original post and underlined it to show you that was changed. try it, it's not too hard.

mcrowder Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:49pm

Taking the ball at the 37 is essentially declining the kick out of bounds penalty, so yes, sure, you can take the 5 for offside. You could not accept both fouls though.

What's this by bobo implying that you would stop a freekick if A went offside? Where do you get this notion? Of course you don't stop the kick - B can tack on the 5 or make A rekick.

JasonTX Tue Sep 12, 2006 01:27pm

There is no option of adding the 5 yards to the end of the out of bounds play. Per 6-1-2-a penalty, 5 yards from the previous spot, 5 yards from the spot where the dead ball belongs to Team B after Team B's run or the spot where the ball is placed after a touchback. Since the kick went out of bounds there is no Team B run.

RoyGardner Tue Sep 12, 2006 01:37pm

"Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?"

No. Wording of rule allows B to elect to have the procedural penalty (offside on A) enforced from the dead ball spot at the end of the run. If B elects to accept the OB spot, then they have accepted the penalty enforcement for a kick OB at the OB spot (therefore there is no run) and we cannot enforce two penalties on the same play.

We can only enforce 1 penalty, kick OB, or the procedural penalty for offside, not both.

mcrowder Tue Sep 12, 2006 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoyGardner
"Does Team B have the option of taking the ball at B's 37 plus the 5 yard offside on Team A?"

No. Wording of rule allows B to elect to have the procedural penalty (offside on A) enforced from the dead ball spot at the end of the run. If B elects to accept the OB spot, then they have accepted the penalty enforcement for a kick OB at the OB spot (therefore there is no run) and we cannot enforce two penalties on the same play.

We can only enforce 1 penalty, kick OB, or the procedural penalty for offside, not both.

Roy, Jason's explanation of this makes more sense. You are making the assumption that the acceptance of the ball at the 37 is a penalty enforcement, when in fact the declining of the penalty for kicking the ball out of bounds would put the ball at the 37. I accept Jason's correction of my original statement, as with the wording of the penalty there must have been a run or a TB. I know it's splitting hairs.... but it is what it is.

RoyGardner Tue Sep 12, 2006 02:48pm

I stand corrected. Accepting the ball at the 37 is as stated accepting the result of the kick (at the OB spot) and is not accepting one of the 2 penalty options (re-kick or 30 yards from kick spot).

The correct reasoning is that there is no run, therefore no end of run for penalty enforcement purposes.

eprov Tue Sep 12, 2006 02:53pm

We came to the same conclusion on our board, can only enforce one penalty. This will help some of our doubting thomas's we have.
Thanks

mcrowder Tue Sep 12, 2006 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eprov
We came to the same conclusion on our board, can only enforce one penalty. This will help some of our doubting thomas's we have.
Thanks

Except that it's only 1 penalty being enforced. Read Jason's response for the right answer.

The Roamin' Umpire Tue Sep 12, 2006 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
What's this by bobo implying that you would stop a freekick if A went offside? Where do you get this notion? Of course you don't stop the kick - B can tack on the 5 or make A rekick.

bobo was replying assuming NFHS rules, under which this is a dead-ball encroachment foul. We blow it dead immediately, back it up 5 yards, and re-kick.

DJ_NV Tue Sep 12, 2006 05:48pm

OK so let's change this around a bit. NCAA rules:

Team A's free kick is bouncing around the Team B-38 yard line and is (a)muffed out of bounds by B1 at the B-40, or (b) recovered by B1 at the B-40 with his knee touching the ground. A25 was offside at the kick.

Assuming Team B wants to accept the offside penalty, their choices in (a) are to have Team A rekick from the A-30 (no other option), and in (b) to rekick from the A-30 or tack 5 yards on from the B-40, 1/10 from the B-45 even though there was technically no actual run.

Is this correct? thanks

RoyGardner Wed Sep 13, 2006 04:50am

"Assuming Team B wants to accept the offside penalty, their choices in

(a) are to have Team A rekick from the A-30 (no other option), and in

(b) to rekick from the A-30 or tack 5 yards on from the B-40, 1/10 from the B-45 even though there was technically no actual run."

Answers to both a and b are correct, but there is a "run" in b. For a, no run, therfore no enforcement from the end of the run option, but in b per NCAA rules, there is a run that begins and ends when B recovers the ball while grounded, so B can accept enforcement from the DB spot in this case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1