The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2015, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. View Post
I debate whether he did not have a foot over the 3-foot area...and I despise Texas.
As my name would suggest, I share your dislike for the shortbushorns, but I initially found myself wondering how far the player actually was from the designated spot. If anyone can successfully argue that he was still on designated spot (see next paragraph as to why I think it was the right call), the incorrect signal is even more egregious because it becomes more difficult to explain to the lay person the rule that the official felt was being violated. It is easy to see that he moved his "pivot" foot in excess of what would be allowed had this not been a throw-in and combined with a travel signal, why would the average fan question this?

Here's my case to support that he had left the designated spot:
1. The distance between the 3 point lines measured along the baseline is 41.5 feet (50 feet of court, 4.25 feet between sideline and 3 point line in the corner on both sides so 50ft - (4.5ft*2) = 41.5 feet).
2. The lettering along the baseline identifies the venue as the Consol Energy Center, which is 18 letters in length. As the lettering appears to start and end the same distance from the 3 point line on both sides, it is likely that a monospaced font was used (also note that it is in all caps making it easier to use a monospaced font in the absence of a lower-case L or a capital I). If we agree a monospaced font was used, then we know all of the letters are the same width.
3. The tricky step is that I don't know the exact distance from the 3 point line that the lettering starts/stops. I do feel relatively certain, however, that the word "ENERGY" falls entirely within the lane lines extended (I'm comfortable with this assumption because it would make the spacing of the word fit easier and have a better feel). Since the lane is 12 feet in width, the letters cannot measure more than 2 feet each in width. As spacing should be consistent between each character of a monospaced font, we can actually excluded calculations for spacing for the purposes of determining how far he actually moved.
4. The initial location of the player when the official handed/tossed the player the ball was at the first "E" in Center. Assuming the designated spot is located at the center point of the "E" (the player had one foot on each side of the point I would call the center of the "E") then 3 feet to either side would be the end of the adjacent letter on either side. There is 1 foot of "E" on each side of the center point and the adjacent letter is 2 feet, thus when the player was standing entirely on the "T" in center before releasing the ball, he would be more than 3 feet away from the designated spot, and thus a violation (but not a travel).

Now that I've gone at great lengths to support this being a violation, I do have a question for everybody else here that could change my opinion of this play. Do you consider the designated spot to be literally as "spot" as I did when supporting this being a violation? Is "spot" really just single point in space or is more like a player sized dot (e.g. in this case the entire area within the players frame is the designated spot and thus no violation as long as he has a foot on or over the area within 3 feet of the entire width of the "E", which in this case would extend half-way across the letter "T")?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2015, 03:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Designated spot is three feet wide. Normally, the center of that spot is where the thrower is handed the ball. He only gets to go about 18 inches in either direction, but he also only needs to keep one foot on or over the spot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2015, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Egregious Longhorn fan here... given that a normal stance with legs spread is just shy of 3 feet wide, we should be looking to see if his right foot moved significantly past where his left foot started.

And as much as I don't want to say this... I think it's clear he did.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2015, 04:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Let Me Whip Out My Slide Rule ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Designated spot is three feet wide. Normally, the center of that spot is where the thrower is handed the ball. He only gets to go about 18 inches in either direction, but he also only needs to keep one foot on or over the spot.
NFHS 4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation
and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower’s disposal.
NOTE: The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released. The
traveling and dribbling rules are not in effect for a throw-in.

Lets' say that the ball is handed, or bounced, to the inbounder, who, for sake of argument, has his feet eighteen inches apart while standing in the center of the three foot wide designated spot. Let's say that he wants to move left. He can move both feet nine inches to the left with no restriction (he's still in that three foot wide spot). Now he has to keep one foot in that spot (let's say he keeps the right foot there) but he still may move the left foot as far as he can without moving the right foot (still in the spot). He can probably take a three foot stride to his left, so in total he has moved about three and a half feet to his left, all legal. As long as he keeps one foot over that three foot wide designated spot, his other feet can move, left to right, legally, in an, almost, seven foot wide area.

Picture a really tall kid in one of the free throw lane spaces. As long as he keeps on foot in that three foot wide lane space, he can probably take one stride left, or right, and almost touch the adjacent lane mark. That's more than nine feet, including the marks themselves. So an average size kid can easily legally "cover" seven feet (left to right), as long as he keeps one foot in that three foot wide area.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Mar 23, 2015 at 06:49pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WVU/Kansas Traveling (Video) Triad zebra Basketball 23 Thu Feb 19, 2015 08:47am
Traveling Violation - Coaching Points (VIDEO) ccrroo Basketball 51 Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:16pm
Video Request: Dec. 19 Arizona-UTEP Traveling??? ZonaZebra Basketball 41 Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:30am
Good 'you make the call' traveling video ballgame99 Basketball 18 Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:19am
Video: Traveling All_Heart Basketball 2 Tue Mar 28, 2006 08:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1