The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 44
Traveling Violation - Coaching Points (VIDEO)

I'm looking for some coaching points. In the video, the dribber is called for a travel. The kid does this move pretty often but the travel calls only come about 10% of the time. But this game, it was called a lot more often.

http://youtu.be/i2x_NPLYIVs



How can I help this player understand why it's called and improve his technique?
Is it simply because he didn't land on 2 feet?

Background -- I think it's a travel too but when it's call so inconsistently, I start to doubt myself. Also, when it's called inconsistently, the player starts to doubt my coaching points. Also, the definition of traveling seems to have
evolved from when I was coached 30 years ago (i.e. the dribbler seems to have more freedom/creativity).

Lastly, I've never been formally trained on traveling infractions. I only go by what I think I can learn by watching games and searching youtube (and trying to comprehend the rule book).

Last edited by APG; Sun Jan 25, 2015 at 01:00pm. Reason: embed clip
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 12:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
One of two things would make this legal:
1. Gathering the dribble after he makes that last leap.
2. Landing on both feet at the same time. Note, if he does this, neither foot can be a pivot.

The fact that it gets missed 90% of the time is likely a factor of the level of play and the officials are either inexperienced or don't want to call a lot of travels at that age.

I'd call it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 12:49pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,572
It's close but I have the player gathering when he is in the air. Thus, he can land and establish a pivot foot which is his left. I do not see his pivot moved in excess of the rule limits after that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 01:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
It's close but I have the player gathering when he is in the air. Thus, he can land and establish a pivot foot which is his left. I do not see his pivot moved in excess of the rule limits after that.
I agree it's close, but I see the gather with the right foot on the floor. If he gathers in the air, then the official incorrectly called a travel. If he gathers with the foot still down, then this is a travel.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 01:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,584
Gathered In The Air ...

Tough call. Real time: Legal. Left foot is the pivot foot before the pass.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 01:27pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
guess I don't see it
totally legal. I'd never call that a travel in HS.
edit- I don't really see any of the feet moving after he lands.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 01:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
guess I don't see it
totally legal. I'd never call that a travel in HS.
edit- I don't really see any of the feet moving after he lands.
I'm not sure what your final point is looking for. His feet don't move after he lands, that's not the question.

Where are his feet when he gathers his dribble?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 01:40pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I actually missed this one the first time, but in retrospect was embarrassed about it. Seems obvious to me now that he caught the ball in both hands before jumping and landing with a one two count.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 02:01pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,846
I have a legal play.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 40
Also, understand that officials are trained to watch the defense and sometimes miss very close travel violations.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,122
Travel...The dribbler catches the ball with the right foot on the floor, he then jumps and lands on the left followed by the right. Both feet must come down at the same time to be legal.

It isn't always caught and some people can't even see it in slow motion but it is what it is.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 673
Looks legal to me, but to answer your question about why it's not consistently called one way or another? It's really close. The fact that we have a slow-mo on the play and the forum is still split is proof of that. As some others have indicated, if he gathers with one foot still on the ground, even if it's just his toe as he is leaping, then he can't land 1-2. If he gathers in the air, he's all set. So if you want to minimize (though not eliminate) the times it is called a travel, the coaching point would be to try to gather the ball just a split second later, so that it is a little clearer to officials that he is grabbing the ball with both hands while in the air, rather than making them make a close-call decision.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Travel, but close to legal.
1. At 2 second point of video (in real time) and 8 second point in slow motion, dribbler ends dribble while foot is on the floor. Right foot becomes pivot foot.
2. Player leaps, causing pivot foot to leave the floor.
3. Pivot foot lands before the ball is passed (or shot); resulting in travel.

Had the ball been gathered to end dribble a half second later, after the leap, no pivot foot would be established until he lands. Legal play.

That is how I see it anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,613
I'm joining the no travel club because I think the dribble ended post-leap. But yeah, it's very close. Hard to tell with this camera angle. Probably hard for the officials, too. This was a 2-person game, and the trail wasn't even in the picture, meaning he was probably too high and not in good position to see the play (so he guessed...a cardinal sin). If he's lower, or if this is a 3-person game and there's a reliable C accepting this play, the officials probably get a much better look. And even then, I'm not sure they'd have enough evidence to call a travel here in real time.

At a recent association meeting in my neck of the woods, leadership noted that they were unhappy with the amount of non-travels being called travels. If anything, they'd rather we err on the side of travels not being called if we're not sure. So I'd probably let this go. It's also probably why 90% of officials in the OPs area do as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 09:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 285
I had to watch it a few times trying to see when he gathers the ball. Looks like a travel in the video for reasons already posted.

As to it only be called some of the time I would suggest that perhaps he is gathering at different times even though he's trying to execute the same move.

Also, as officials, we try not to guess. I had a game today where I thought it likely that the player had travelled, but I wasn't sure so I passed on it. Even talked about it with my partner who happened to get a look at it as well. With this move I think officials may be in that situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traveling Violation niceofficial Basketball 8 Tue Jan 13, 2015 05:05pm
Amazing ending ... 8 points in under 2 seconds (with video) Brad Basketball 23 Wed Mar 12, 2008 07:16am
Video: Traveling All_Heart Basketball 2 Tue Mar 28, 2006 08:22am
Traveling Violation or Not ? SteveRef702 Basketball 1 Sun Jan 13, 2002 07:52pm
Traveling Violation Duster Basketball 2 Thu Dec 23, 1999 07:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1