The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
Jump ball

Start of district play last night boys varsity. A1 and B1 go up for the opening jump. Official, IMO, tosses ball a little higher than should have. Ultimately, both players wiff. Ball hits floor and B1 catches it off the bounce. Non jump official blows violation on B1.

Correct call? Yes, but would a re-jump ever come into consideration on a play like that?

(and p.s. I am A1's coach, so I benefited.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
Start of district play last night boys varsity. A1 and B1 go up for the opening jump. Official, IMO, tosses ball a little higher than should have. Ultimately, both players wiff. Ball hits floor and B1 catches it off the bounce. Non jump official blows violation on B1.

Correct call? Yes, but would a re-jump ever come into consideration on a play like that?

(and p.s. I am A1's coach, so I benefited.)
Not the correct call. If the ball hits the floor before either jumper touches it, then it's a re-jump by rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
I thought the jump ball ends when the ball hits the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison View Post
I thought the jump ball ends when the ball hits the floor.
4-28-2 . . .The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the official's hand(s) and ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor, a basket or backboard. (italics added)

6-3-6 . . . The tossed ball must be touched by one or both of the jumpers after it reaches its highest point. If the ball contacts the floor without being touched by at least one of the jumpers, the referee shall toss it again. (italics added)
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
My point exactly, how can there be a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
Ahh...maybe one or all the officials thought the ball hit one or both of the jumpers while on the way down? I know for sure the ball hit the floor, but I guess it would be real easy for the ball to hit a player on the way down?

All I noticed was the bounce....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
All it had to do was touch one of the jumpers.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 01:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
Ahh...maybe one or all the officials thought the ball hit one or both of the jumpers while on the way down? I know for sure the ball hit the floor, but I guess it would be real easy for the ball to hit a player on the way down?

All I noticed was the bounce....
Assuming one of the jumpers hit the ball, it's not a violation for one of them to grab it after it bounces. Play on, although many would do a rejump even in that case.

In no way is this a violation, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches nobody on the way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = Re jump?

So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches A1 on way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = No violation, play ball?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 02:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches nobody on the way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = Re jump?

So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches A1 on way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = No violation, play ball?
Correct, by rule.

Although a lot of officials will rejump in your second scenario if the official tosses it too high. I wouldn't, but I know quite a few who would.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches nobody on the way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = Re jump?

So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches A1 on way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = No violation, play ball?
Correct. For what it's worth, I find it off that the toss would not touch either player on the way down without it being an extremely poor throw (not just too high, but off center, too). Yes it is possible, but hard to imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 03:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,696
No More Peach Baskets ...

Flip a damn coin, or give it to the visitors.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2015, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpgc99 View Post
Correct. For what it's worth, I find it off that the toss would not touch either player on the way down without it being an extremely poor throw (not just too high, but off center, too). Yes it is possible, but hard to imagine.
Imagine it. I had it happen exactly like that earlier this year. Same thing, i.e. toss was too high and the jumpers just mis-timed it. I was not the R. So I called it back and we had a re-jump. No big deal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump ball held ball plus injury. Sharpshooternes Basketball 16 Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:25pm
Jump ball-Held Ball (Video) JRutledge Basketball 21 Mon Sep 09, 2013 09:54pm
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
jump ball???? jritchie Basketball 9 Mon Sep 27, 2004 02:51pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1