![]() |
Jump ball
Start of district play last night boys varsity. A1 and B1 go up for the opening jump. Official, IMO, tosses ball a little higher than should have. Ultimately, both players wiff. Ball hits floor and B1 catches it off the bounce. Non jump official blows violation on B1.
Correct call? Yes, but would a re-jump ever come into consideration on a play like that? (and p.s. I am A1's coach, so I benefited.) |
Quote:
|
I thought the jump ball ends when the ball hits the floor.
|
Quote:
6-3-6 . . . The tossed ball must be touched by one or both of the jumpers after it reaches its highest point. If the ball contacts the floor without being touched by at least one of the jumpers, the referee shall toss it again. (italics added) |
My point exactly, how can there be a violation?
|
Ahh...maybe one or all the officials thought the ball hit one or both of the jumpers while on the way down? I know for sure the ball hit the floor, but I guess it would be real easy for the ball to hit a player on the way down?
All I noticed was the bounce.... |
All it had to do was touch one of the jumpers.
|
Quote:
In no way is this a violation, though. |
So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches nobody on the way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = Re jump?
So if both A1 and B1 wiff, ball touches A1 on way down, ball bounces off floor, A1 grabs. = No violation, play ball? |
Quote:
Although a lot of officials will rejump in your second scenario if the official tosses it too high. I wouldn't, but I know quite a few who would. |
Quote:
|
No More Peach Baskets ...
Flip a damn coin, or give it to the visitors.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13am. |