The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 09:02am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
...

#4. Correct call...smacked him across the upper arm.
...
I thought so at first, but last camera angle shows it was clean.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
#6 I do not see a walk here. I did think it was when I saw it live (first view from TV) but not after watching the first replays last night (and even without Bilas' claim Okafor is the next Olajuwon) After his jump stop, both feet landing simultaneously, it appears to me he then pivots off his left foot, taking a step to basket and scoring. If anything was unusual about this play, possibly a carry a few dribbles before entering the paint, but can't see it clear enough.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 12:06pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
#6 I do not see a walk here. I did think it was when I saw it live (first view from TV) but not after watching the first replays last night (and even without Bilas' claim Okafor is the next Olajuwon) After his jump stop, both feet landing simultaneously, it appears to me he then pivots off his left foot, taking a step to basket and scoring. If anything was unusual about this play, possibly a carry a few dribbles before entering the paint, but can't see it clear enough.
Since he gathered and jumped on one foot is he allowed to pivot?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Since he gathered and jumped on one foot is he allowed to pivot?
Looking at it again and seeing where/when he gathered it looks like he uses his left foot to come to a jump stop. By 4.44.2A ('11-'12CB) he cannot pivot. But he can jump off both feet for a try, just not sure that's what he did. Looks like he lifts his right foot and jumps off his left as he goes to shoot. As someone else said: splitting hairs, and with all they let go now, that seems minimal
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Looking at it again and seeing where/when he gathered it looks like he uses his left foot to come to a jump stop. By 4.44.2A ('11-'12CB) he cannot pivot. But he can jump off both feet for a try, just not sure that's what he did. Looks like he lifts his right foot and jumps off his left as he goes to shoot. As someone else said: splitting hairs, and with all they let go now, that seems minimal
Assuming your description is correct (I didn't watch the video), then why wouldn't that be legal?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
#6 I do not see a walk here. I did think it was when I saw it live (first view from TV) but not after watching the first replays last night (and even without Bilas' claim Okafor is the next Olajuwon) After his jump stop, both feet landing simultaneously, it appears to me he then pivots off his left foot, taking a step to basket and scoring. If anything was unusual about this play, possibly a carry a few dribbles before entering the paint, but can't see it clear enough.
All good except he's not allowed to pivot after the jump stop and he did....with a large step, not a little shuffle or anything that could be considered hair splitting.

He jumped off of one foot well after catching the ball prior to the jump stop....he had it in both hands above his head before he jumped.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
All good except he's not allowed to pivot after the jump stop and he did....with a large step, not a little shuffle or anything that could be considered hair splitting.

He jumped off of one foot well after catching the ball prior to the jump stop....he had it in both hands above his head before he jumped.
Right, so what could he have done legally after the jump stop to get his shot off? Jumped with both feet?

BTW, any diff NCAA/NFHS in this play?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Right, so what could he have done legally after the jump stop to get his shot off? Jumped with both feet?

BTW, any diff NCAA/NFHS in this play?
You can jump with both feet. You can lift one foot and then jump off the other (which is what you, I think, described earlier as being illegal -- it isn't).

What you can't do (under this type of jump stop) is lift either foot and return it to the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
You can jump with both feet. You can lift one foot and then jump off the other (which is what you, I think, described earlier as being illegal -- it isn't).

What you can't do (under this type of jump stop) is lift either foot and return it to the floor.
That's why I asked about any difference in interp on this between NCAA and NFHS. Originally, as I said, I thought it to be a legal move: come to a legal jump stop as he did, turn face basket, then pivot on left foot after lifting right foot, and jump from that pivot foot towards the basket for a shot. I still think that is legal, but I'm second guessing myself I suppose when I read from NF 11-12 CB 4.44.2A that says after coming to a jump stop "it is a violation if A1 pivots on either foot".
Clarifications anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 10:26am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
That's why I asked about any difference in interp on this between NCAA and NFHS. Originally, as I said, I thought it to be a legal move: come to a legal jump stop as he did, turn face basket, then pivot on left foot after lifting right foot, and jump from that pivot foot towards the basket for a shot. I still think that is legal, but I'm second guessing myself I suppose when I read from NF 11-12 CB 4.44.2A that says after coming to a jump stop "it is a violation if A1 pivots on either foot".
Clarifications anyone?
NCAA Rule

Rule 4 Section 22. Jump Stop
Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving or dribbling with:
a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).



If your dribbles ends while airborne, and you land on 2 feet, you get a pivot foot. If you are in possession of the ball (gathered), and you jump off one foot, you get no pivot foot once you land.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 20, 2015 at 10:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
That's why I asked about any difference in interp on this between NCAA and NFHS. Originally, as I said, I thought it to be a legal move: come to a legal jump stop as he did, turn face basket, then pivot on left foot after lifting right foot, and jump from that pivot foot towards the basket for a shot. I still think that is legal, but I'm second guessing myself I suppose when I read from NF 11-12 CB 4.44.2A that says after coming to a jump stop "it is a violation if A1 pivots on either foot".
Clarifications anyone?
I think the case could be worded better and/or you are mis-understanding the word "pivot."

Better for the case would be "it is a violation if A1 steps with either foot."

Travelling is "moving the pivot foot in excess of allowed limits" (or something like that. So, when we say "neither foot can be a pivot", it does not mean that neither foot can be lifted, nor does it mean that neither foot can be turned; it means that neither foot can be lifted and returned to the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I thought so at first, but last camera angle shows it was clean.
It was that very same camera angle that confirmed it was a foul for me....the backside of the defenders triceps comes down on the arm of the shooter.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It was that very same camera angle that confirmed it was a foul for me....the backside of the defenders triceps comes down on the arm of the shooter.
Good catch. I did not see that contact until you mentioned it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 02:20pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It was that very same camera angle that confirmed it was a foul for me....the backside of the defenders triceps comes down on the arm of the shooter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
Good catch. I did not see that contact until you mentioned it.
I have that as incidental contact. I called a foul on a similar play at the end of a game recently and I have wanted that call back after seeing some (poor) video of the play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I have that as incidental contact. I called a foul on a similar play at the end of a game recently and I have wanted that call back after seeing some (poor) video of the play.
That contact occurs just prior to him blocking the ball and impacts the shooter enough that a foul is justified.

I would not argue had it been a no call though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke/Fla St (Video) just another ref Basketball 16 Sun Feb 15, 2015 10:23am
Duke-UNC Women (Video) Rich Basketball 10 Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:18am
UConn/Duke F1 video request SC Official Basketball 8 Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:41pm
Video Request - Syracuse vs Duke (Video) grunewar Basketball 127 Fri Feb 28, 2014 09:08pm
Duke - Louisville Video request Adam Basketball 52 Mon Apr 01, 2013 05:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1