The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UNC/Duke (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99342-unc-duke-video.html)

bballref3966 Wed Feb 18, 2015 09:35pm

UNC/Duke (Video)
 
About 9:25 first half. Close block/charge play called player control against UNC.

Then Bilas gave his whole "you can't move" spiel. :rolleyes:

AremRed Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:02pm

Easy charge.

Bad Zebra Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:15pm

Good call. Calling official had a beautiful view...a classic pass and crash.

Bilas is an a$$, as usual. Amazing how he is so consistently wrong.

bballref3966 Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:33pm

Worth another look is the GT/BI call at 13:26 second half.

SC Official Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:57pm

Pat Driscoll goes down and Jay Bilas says, "I think he was getting his feet set to take a charge." Clever Bilas, clever.

I would like to see the block called against UNC at either 4:39 or 4:29 in the second half. I had a hard time finding what the defender did wrong in real time.

AremRed Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 955387)
Worth another look is the GT/BI call at 13:26 second half.

Yup, looked like a good block to me. I don't know if the video will show anything because they never showed a different angle.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 955390)
I would like to see the block called against UNC at either 4:39 or 4:29 in the second half. I had a hard time finding what the defender did wrong in real time.

Defender started falling before contact, often called a block at this level. Plus I think he was slightly late.

bballref3966 Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:13pm

Foul call with 44 seconds left.

Refneck Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:39pm

Pivot after jump stop by Okafor in OT. Travel or not?

APG Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refneck (Post 955397)
Pivot after jump stop by Okafor in OT. Travel or not?

I'm going to need the time for this play...in general, I'm don't search for plays.

SC Official Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 955393)
Defender started falling before contact, often called a block at this level. Plus I think he was slightly late.

I never saw the defender move forward. Sure looked to me like he continued to move backward, but I'll give Tim Nestor the benefit of the doubt until I see it again. And, falling before contact does not constitute a block.

Refneck Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 955398)
I'm going to need the time for this play...in general, I'm don't search for plays.

My bad. 1:44 remaining in OT.

AremRed Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 955402)
And, falling before contact does not constitute a block.

It does according to the college guys I've talked to. They've told me the defender has to take it.

SC Official Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 955404)
It does according to the college guys I've talked to. They've told me the defender has to take it.

Not according to the rules. I'm not saying you're wrong, but the premise that falling before contact constitutes a block is backed up nowhere in the rules book.

AremRed Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 955405)
Not according to the rules. I'm not saying you're wrong, but the premise that falling before contact constitutes a block is backed up nowhere in the rules book.

I'm well aware of the rule, and I am sure the D1 official who made the call is as well. I'm talking about the standards and expectations for how plays are officiated at that level, but you can go ahead and call that play a charge in your games.

SC Official Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 955408)
I'm well aware of the rule, and I am sure the D1 official who made the call is as well. I'm talking about the standards and expectations for how plays are officiated at that level, but you can go ahead and call that play a charge in your games.

If you would take a second to actually read my posts instead of getting defensive, I never said it was a charge and gave Nestor the benefit of the doubt. I asked what the defender did wrong. In my judgment, without any replay, he did nothing wrong by the rules. Falling early does not make it a block. Period. If D1 officials are told your philosophy, fine. I'm merely pointing out what the rules say.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1