The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
No verticality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
I hear this reasoning often, but as its not supported by the rules I just don't buy it. THe rules say that a player with lgp can move backwards. We are also expressly told they are alloud to protect themselves, even if this inlcludes movements that might normally be illegal (twisting or turning).

Requiring players to stand there and take "it" not only flys in the face of the rule, but in a culture much more sensitive to concussions and collisions in sport is esentially an officiating endorsement of punishing kids for not putting themselves at further risk.

If you want to no call it because the contact is now minimal and you don't feel they are disadvantaged I can live with that but calling a block is tantamount to saying I'm calling a foul because you are soft. And creates a much more physical and risky culture.

Now I'm not an NCAA officials and if my boss and colleagues all said "We are calling this block" then I would have to make that decision or judgement in that situation. In my current situation and by the standard the rules lay out. PC or no call.
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP. No different than if he had his arms extended and made contact. (I didn't watch the video - I am referring to a case where they start to fall backwards without contact - not moving backwards with their feet)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 02:03pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP. No different than if he had his arms extended and made contact. (I didn't watch the video - I am referring to a case where they start to fall backwards without contact - not moving backwards with their feet)
Leaning back does not cause one to lose LGP. And, no, this is not anything like extending an arm and making contact.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP. No different than if he had his arms extended and made contact. (I didn't watch the video - I am referring to a case where they start to fall backwards without contact - not moving backwards with their feet)
and we are told defender cannot move in any direction except vertically before contact. they made a point to say this when they changed the block/charge rule from last year's fiasco.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP.
Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.

Wrong, but interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
and we are told defender cannot move in any direction except vertically before contact. they made a point to say this when they changed the block/charge rule from last year's fiasco.
Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:04pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.
Actually, I heard the same thing in one of my preseason clinics.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Most definitely a foul on that screen; the screen looks fine but the blatant holding of the help defender is a foul. Nicely disguised though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.

Wrong, but interesting.



Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.
No Adam, It's not wrong. It was approved in June by the NCAA oversight panel. If you are attempting to draw a charge on a pass or shot you must be in position before contact occurs and you cannot move in ANY DIRECTION before contact occurs.(except vertically).

and i don't have the time for it until after the season but id like to have a conversation about lgp/rules v how the game has been played for years, and years etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.

Wrong, but interesting.



Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Actually, I heard the same thing in one of my preseason clinics.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
No Adam, It's not wrong. It was approved in June by the NCAA oversight panel. If you are attempting to draw a charge on a pass or shot you must be in position before contact occurs and you cannot move in ANY DIRECTION before contact occurs.(except vertically).

and i don't have the time for it until after the season but id like to have a conversation about lgp/rules v how the game has been played for years, and years etc.
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:36pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.
When I say I heard it, I heard it in some form of context from the NCAA. I remember being taken aback about it, as it was just sort of glossed over. I believe I even brought it up here in a thread before the season started.

However, the preseason slides from Art Hyland contain the followin text concerning 4-17-4:

"If defender establishes legal guarding position before shooter becomes airborne, defender may jump straight in the air or move backwards"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Feb 19, 2015 at 03:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
When I say I heard it, I heard it in some form of context from the NCAA. I remember being taken aback about it, as it was just sort of glossed over. I believe I even brought it up here in a thread before the season started.

However, the preseason slides from Art Hyland contain the followin text concerning 4-17-4:

"If defender establishes legal guarding position before shooter becomes airborne, defender may jump straight in the air or move backwards"

I just reviewed the preseason NCAA video, John Adams says the defender may move backwards. But I know I heard or read something "official" from the NCAA saying the defender couldn't move backwards. I wish I would have taken better note of it when I came across the information.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.
The NCAA oversight panel has said it. There in charge. They get to make "stuff up." It was recommended and approved. You will see it in the next rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:50pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The NCAA oversight panel has said it. There in charge. They get to make "stuff up." It was recommended and approved. You will see it in the next rule book.

Jay Bilas will approve.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2015, 01:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
We are advised to call it a block because if he starts leaning back before contact, he lost verticality and is no longer has LGP. No different than if he had his arms extended and made contact. (I didn't watch the video - I am referring to a case where they start to fall backwards without contact - not moving backwards with their feet)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
No Adam, It's not wrong. It was approved in June by the NCAA oversight panel. If you are attempting to draw a charge on a pass or shot you must be in position before contact occurs and you cannot move in ANY DIRECTION before contact occurs.(except vertically).
Y'all do realize that if an offensive player runs over the defender it is possible for the foul to be on that offensive player even if the defender never had LGP at all, don't you?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2015, 10:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
and we are told defender cannot move in any direction except vertically before contact. they made a point to say this when they changed the block/charge rule from last year's fiasco.
I think the NCAA corrected their communications. I attended my clinics late September/early October. The video and slides on Arbiter are dated mid November.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Feb 22, 2015 at 03:21pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke/Fla St (Video) just another ref Basketball 16 Sun Feb 15, 2015 10:23am
Duke-UNC Women (Video) Rich Basketball 10 Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:18am
UConn/Duke F1 video request SC Official Basketball 8 Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:41pm
Video Request - Syracuse vs Duke (Video) grunewar Basketball 127 Fri Feb 28, 2014 09:08pm
Duke - Louisville Video request Adam Basketball 52 Mon Apr 01, 2013 05:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1