The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 11:09am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Had my first ever blarge this season. It felt as crappy as you'd think it would feel. It was 3-man, I was C. Play started and finished on my side of the paint. My L didn't get the pre-game memo that C has first crack on his side. It just happened, even though we pre-gamed it. Neither coach had any idea what was supposed to happen under the circumstances, but we explained it to both. Thankfully the coaches were reasonable with the explanation and we handled it the right way. I am very hesitant to jump on a block/charge anymore, no matter which position I'm in. Don't want to have it happen again.
Had one in a summer game a few years ago, I was gun-shy for a while after that. Not with blowing the whistle, but I was extra careful about showing my prelim.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Had one in a summer game a few years ago, I was gun-shy for a while after that. Not with blowing the whistle, but I was extra careful about showing my prelim.
Right - that's what I meant. And it's a good thing, too, because on Tuesday night, I was working with a big hitter (state tourney guy) who scolded me for not blowing and holding from the outside after I had told him about my blarge pre-game. He stressed blowing and holding from the outside for our game. So what does he do the first time we have a block/charge? Blows and punches from C when I'm the L with my fist in the air. It was straight down the middle of the paint. He apologized next dead ball. Just goes to show - it can happen with even the most respected guys. I would have had the same call as him, but still....
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
As I understand it, there are basically 4 possibilities if you have a blarge. Get together with partners and figure out which applies.

1) Ball had not been released yet by A1 when fouls occurred --> Report both fouls. No basket scored. Ball to A as A had team control at the POI.
2) Ball had been released on shot by A1 and shot is good --> Score basket, report both fouls. Award Ball to B who may run the end line.
3) Ball had been released on shot by A1 and shot is not good --> Report both fouls. Award Ball based on possession arrow at the spot nearest the foul.
4) Ball had been released on a pass to teammate when the fouls occurred --> Report both fouls. Ball to A as A maintained team control on a pass.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 11:58am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
As I understand it, there are basically 4 possibilities if you have a blarge. Get together with partners and figure out which applies.

1) Ball had not been released yet by A1 when fouls occurred --> Report both fouls. No basket scored. Ball to A as A had team control at the POI.
2) Ball had been released on shot by A1 and shot is good --> Score basket, report both fouls. Award Ball to B who may run the end line.
3) Ball had been released on shot by A1 and shot is not good --> Report both fouls. Award Ball based on possession arrow at the spot nearest the foul.
4) Ball had been released on a pass to teammate when the fouls occurred --> Report both fouls. Ball to A as A maintained team control on a pass.

It is not necessary to report both fouls. You can confer and go with one call. Check with your assignor and see how it is to be handled where you work.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 12:03pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
I don't understand the problem with picking one of the fouls and going with it.

Sure, one of the coaches is going to be upset, but does that matter? Are we to make changes to calls based on coaches being upset with it? If so, then we're going to be changing quite a bit.

And it seems to me that only one of the calls is correct. It can't be a charge and a block. I mean, both can happen, but not at the same time. So why would an assignor take issue with getting together, and figuring out which one to go with? And going with the primary officials call seems like the best course of action.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 12:11pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I don't understand the problem with picking one of the fouls and going with it.

Sure, one of the coaches is going to be upset, but does that matter? Are we to make changes to calls based on coaches being upset with it? If so, then we're going to be changing quite a bit.

And it seems to me that only one of the calls is correct. It can't be a charge and a block. I mean, both can happen, but not at the same time. So why would an assignor take issue with getting together, and figuring out which one to go with? And going with the primary officials call seems like the best course of action.
Why indeed. Not to mention that the conclusion cannot be logically drawn in the first place that both fouls must be reported, based on the case play or anything else. Still, check with your assignor, as this is the dominant interpretation in this case.

"Ruling a double foul on a block/charge would not be the thing to do."

Theresia D. Wynns Editor NFHS Publications
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 01:45pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
"Ruling a double foul on a block/charge would not be the thing to do."

Theresia D. Wynns Editor NFHS Publications
Did you ever ask her what the casebook play was supposed to mean?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 01:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Did you ever ask her what the casebook play was supposed to mean?
No, he never did directly ask when the case play should apply.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 02:29pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Did you ever ask her what the casebook play was supposed to mean?

She said if neither official will give up his call, then report both fouls. The case play tells us what to do then, but as I read it, that's all it tells us. Apparently her view is the same, along with my current association rules interpreter, and the state supervisor of officials.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 01:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I don't understand the problem with picking one of the fouls and going with it.

....
Because every one of my supervisors expects us to go with a blarge.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It is not necessary to report both fouls. You can confer and go with one call. Check with your assignor and see how it is to be handled where you work.
Not according to the Case Book. Two signals=double foul.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 12:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
Not according to the Case Book. Two signals=double foul.

Depends on how you interpret the case. Show me the part where it mentions signals at all. And then show the part that requires both fouls be reported, no matter what happened.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 02:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Depends on how you interpret the case. Show me the part where it mentions signals at all. And then show the part that requires both fouls be reported, no matter what happened.
Ad nauseum

Everyone who matters at the national level, and every state level but one, interprets the case play in the only way that makes sense. "Call" = "signal"
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2015, 02:21pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Ad nauseum

Everyone who matters at the national level, and every state level but one, interprets the case play in the only way that makes sense. "Call" = "signal"
Actually, it now says "rules" rather than "calls."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Almost blarge zm1283 Basketball 49 Thu Jan 10, 2013 05:50pm
Another Blarge Scrapper1 Basketball 46 Tue Mar 08, 2011 07:08am
uh oh....BLARGE!!!! vbzebra Basketball 43 Tue Jan 18, 2011 09:58am
Blarge All_Heart Basketball 14 Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm
Another Blarge Snake~eyes Basketball 6 Fri Jan 13, 2006 03:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1