![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
We can't get away with that ruling in these parts. Coaches know when we have F'ed it up, they expect us to go with the double foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
I stayed out of the way while they sorted it out, and the one coach (who didn't get the call) wanted to know why. I didn't see any sort of argument, so I guess we got lucky.
|
|
|||
|
Had my first ever blarge this season. It felt as crappy as you'd think it would feel. It was 3-man, I was C. Play started and finished on my side of the paint. My L didn't get the pre-game memo that C has first crack on his side. It just happened, even though we pre-gamed it. Neither coach had any idea what was supposed to happen under the circumstances, but we explained it to both. Thankfully the coaches were reasonable with the explanation and we handled it the right way. I am very hesitant to jump on a block/charge anymore, no matter which position I'm in. Don't want to have it happen again.
|
|
|||
|
Right - that's what I meant. And it's a good thing, too, because on Tuesday night, I was working with a big hitter (state tourney guy) who scolded me for not blowing and holding from the outside after I had told him about my blarge pre-game. He stressed blowing and holding from the outside for our game. So what does he do the first time we have a block/charge? Blows and punches from C when I'm the L with my fist in the air. It was straight down the middle of the paint. He apologized next dead ball. Just goes to show - it can happen with even the most respected guys. I would have had the same call as him, but still....
|
|
|||
|
As I understand it, there are basically 4 possibilities if you have a blarge. Get together with partners and figure out which applies.
1) Ball had not been released yet by A1 when fouls occurred --> Report both fouls. No basket scored. Ball to A as A had team control at the POI. 2) Ball had been released on shot by A1 and shot is good --> Score basket, report both fouls. Award Ball to B who may run the end line. 3) Ball had been released on shot by A1 and shot is not good --> Report both fouls. Award Ball based on possession arrow at the spot nearest the foul. 4) Ball had been released on a pass to teammate when the fouls occurred --> Report both fouls. Ball to A as A maintained team control on a pass. |
|
||||
|
I've had one in my career. JUCO mens game about 5-6 years ago. I was the lead, it was a no-brainer block in the lane, and as I'm banging the block, the trail (3-person) was pointing the other way.
I looked over at the C, and I swear he was laughing. Later I found out it was because the charge call from the T was so bad he was laughing at what he knew my reaction was going to be later. We went double foul without a second thought and both coaches were unhappy, as you'd expect. Anyhow, our crew has gotten sloppy this season, I'll admit -- it's something we need to clean up. We had a no-brainer player control foul in the dreaded triple whistle area last week, and I wouldn't be surprised if all three of us pointed it the other way. Seems we only ever do this on easy, no-brainer fouls, but I'm afraid it's going to happen when we have one that's not quite so easy. Hasn't bitten us yet...and the one I've had has been the only one since the 80s. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
I think this would be a very hard sell in NFHS. You could possibly do it in college, if there is definite knowledge that the defender is in the RA, but otherwise it'd be tough.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you want to know what to tell coaches, here you go... "coach, I was in the best position for that call, and that is how I saw it." Is he going to like it? Maybe not, but that's hardly the first or last call he's going to disagree with. So why change the way it should be done to accommodate him this time? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But the powers that be for the HS games I call have ALL made it very clear that a blarge occurs when two officials give preliminary signals and that it is to be enforced and administered according to the 4 scenarios laid out in the case book. I have had one in my career that occurred 2 seasons ago. I'm the C on a play in secondary transition. The play happened on the other side of the paint right in the L's lap. I waited, waited and then put air on my whistle for what IMO was an easy block call. I came hard to sell it since I was coming late and a little out of my primary. As I go to report and kids start lining up I see the L, a soft spoken guy who lacks presence and is consistently late with whistles, with his first pointed the other direction. My first inclination was to ignore him and proceed to the table. But then I thought better of it, knowing that everything is on tape. I go to him, talk it through, and report both to the table. All the while, kids are lined up ready to shoot FTs. I tell both coaches, and the coach who is getting screwed goes "so you're gonna take my kid off the line?" Yes, coach by rule that's what we have to do. I saw the same coach later and we talked about it. He said he knew we did the right thing by rule and that even though he could tell I felt bad about it we did the right thing. He also sent me the tape that confirmed that it was an obvious block even though I didnt wait as long as I thought I did. I think the current NFHS rule sucks but again, its been made very clear here that it is to be enforced as HokiePaul noted in his post. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Almost blarge | zm1283 | Basketball | 49 | Thu Jan 10, 2013 05:50pm |
| Another Blarge | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 46 | Tue Mar 08, 2011 07:08am |
| uh oh....BLARGE!!!! | vbzebra | Basketball | 43 | Tue Jan 18, 2011 09:58am |
| Blarge | All_Heart | Basketball | 14 | Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm |
| Another Blarge | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 6 | Fri Jan 13, 2006 03:16pm |