![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
It is simple: 1) In one act/motion, A1 attempts an unsuccessful 3-point shot and is fouled by 5 defenders AT THE SAME TIME. How many points can theoretically be scored? 2) In one act/motion, A1 attempts an unsuccessful 3-point shot and is fouled by 5 defenders AT DIFFERENT TIMES. How many points can theoretically be scored? Those are the plays. There is nothing more to add. There are no viewpoints, technical fouls, or any other information and we are not in space. Who can simply provide a number and a case/rule as an answer? Last edited by luvhoops; Wed Jan 14, 2015 at 10:56am. |
|
|||
I have a question. Why is this the case? I've seen a shooter on his way up get fouled, release the shot, then get leveled by an attempted shot blocker. I've never expected my shooter to get more than the accustomed 2 free throws.
In another thread Mutantducky brought up a scenario where he was adamant that he'd award free throws to a shooter that has released the shot and no longer in the act of shooting. By rule he was wrong but in his defense I've seen it multiple times. It's almost as if in practice, if the ball is still in the air, the shots are awarded even if the shooter is no longer in the act of shooting. Why would the letter of the rule not be followed in this circumstance but the letter of the rule was important his circumstance? To qualify this, I'm not saying I have an opinion one way or the other. I'm here because understanding the rules and there interpretations make me a better coach and has helped immensely in communicating with officials properly. |
|
|||
It is a matter of penalizing more the rules allow for the infraction that has occurred (shooter having already landed) vs. applying judgement to not call a foul on the 2nd contact since it can be judged that two contacts typically don't create any more disadvantage than one. However, the multiple foul exists for that one time that is just might be needed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jan 14, 2015 at 11:17am. |
|
|||
Just like in society, there are some rules that are never enforced. The rule/case books are in need of editing.
Multiple fouls happen every game. It is NEVER called/adjudicated properly. There are countless times when a shooter near the basket gets fouled by more than one person. Only one foul is called. I've even seen plays where an official jokingly says aloud "pick one." Just like Rule 4-24 Article 7 happens EVERY game and is not enforced based on letter of rule. (I sense another topic coming) Art 7. It is not legal to use the hand and/or forearm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when throwing for goal. |
|
|||
Every game? Really?
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
All fouls during the second play will be "AT APPROXIMATELY THE SAME TIME". So, the second play is not a False Multiple Foul play; the second play is a Multiple Foul play. The first play is also a Multiple Foul play. So, both plays are adjudicated the same. 10 FTs. |
|
|||
Quote:
I meant that multiple fouls occur all the time, however, I have never seen a multiple foul called/adjudicated. |
|
|||
Quote:
the definition of false multiple foul says 2 or more fouls by same team and last committed before clock started. we have a case book play which says airborne A1 fouled in act of shooting by B1. B2 slides into landing area and fouls A1 before he gets foot to ground. Ruling calls those false multiple fouls. 2 shots for each. so we know in that situation they are not to be considered "at approximately same time." the play has been in case book forever... in the second play mentioned we are told that first foul is committed and then the others, different times. say first foul was on arm--last foul a block before shooter returns to floor. 3 in between. i think you would call them all false multiples. |
|
||||
Quote:
Every game may be a bit extreme, but once in 30 years seems extreme, also.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
Not only have I never seen it called, I've never heard of anyone who has seen it called. Haven't even heard a myth, or seen a fuzzy photo. At least with Sasquatch, we've got some photos.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, I realize that this is off-topic and apologize. I presume that bob notified the NFHS of their "error" and that they will be correcting it in future case books. What was their response? For any upcoming posts bob, please just quickly indicate that the NFHS book is incorrect. With that, we won't have so many back-and-forth posts. We will know, immediately, to disregard the book, and go by what you say. At the very least, bob did provide an actual number in his first responsive post. |
|
|||
After all this, try reading NFHS Case 6.7.4, which involves multiple fouls by opponents at different times (False Multiple Foul). I have seen that occur dozens of time but again, never called and adjudicated as written. We probably have all seen it. A1 driving hard to the hoop, B1 reaches and fouls A1 on the arm, then A1 charges into B2.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
7 points in a championship game....7 dang points?! | OrStBballRef | Basketball | 30 | Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:17am |
Int Between Player who has already scored and F2 | Rattlehead | Softball | 6 | Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:14pm |
How is this play scored? | John Robertson | Baseball | 21 | Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:43pm |
How's this scored? | akalsey | Baseball | 8 | Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:17pm |
Run scored | CK | Baseball | 10 | Tue Jul 08, 2003 05:51pm |