View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2015, 10:57am
LSCoach LSCoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post

By rule, yes. In practice, no.
I have a question. Why is this the case? I've seen a shooter on his way up get fouled, release the shot, then get leveled by an attempted shot blocker. I've never expected my shooter to get more than the accustomed 2 free throws.

In another thread Mutantducky brought up a scenario where he was adamant that he'd award free throws to a shooter that has released the shot and no longer in the act of shooting. By rule he was wrong but in his defense I've seen it multiple times. It's almost as if in practice, if the ball is still in the air, the shots are awarded even if the shooter is no longer in the act of shooting.

Why would the letter of the rule not be followed in this circumstance but the letter of the rule was important his circumstance?

To qualify this, I'm not saying I have an opinion one way or the other. I'm here because understanding the rules and there interpretations make me a better coach and has helped immensely in communicating with officials properly.
Reply With Quote