|  | 
| 
 | |||||||
|  | 
|  | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 the definition of false multiple foul says 2 or more fouls by same team and last committed before clock started. we have a case book play which says airborne A1 fouled in act of shooting by B1. B2 slides into landing area and fouls A1 before he gets foot to ground. Ruling calls those false multiple fouls. 2 shots for each. so we know in that situation they are not to be considered "at approximately same time." the play has been in case book forever... in the second play mentioned we are told that first foul is committed and then the others, different times. say first foul was on arm--last foul a block before shooter returns to floor. 3 in between. i think you would call them all false multiples. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 it is their play..and yes by that play 15 is the number. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Yes, I realize that this is off-topic and apologize. I presume that bob notified the NFHS of their "error" and that they will be correcting it in future case books. What was their response? For any upcoming posts bob, please just quickly indicate that the NFHS book is incorrect. With that, we won't have so many back-and-forth posts. We will know, immediately, to disregard the book, and go by what you say. At the very least, bob did provide an actual number in his first responsive post. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 The amount of time between the shooter going up and landing, in normal play, is still "approximately at the same time". 
				__________________ I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 What if A1 misses the shot, how many free throws would be awarded? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			[QUOTE=potato;950230]Are you guys saying if A1 goes up for a 2pt layup, gets fouled by B1 and continues for a shot and B2 comes in to block the shot but fouls A1, and the shot enters, A1 gets another 2 free throws 1 for each foul? never seen it before.[/quote[ By rule, yes. In practice, no. Quote: 
 1 FT for each foul if no try, a 2-point try (successful or not), or a successful 3-point try. 2 FTs for each foul if an unsuccessful 3-point try, or an I or F | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I have a question.  Why is this the case?  I've seen a shooter on his way up get fouled, release the shot, then get leveled by an attempted shot blocker.  I've never expected my shooter to get more than the accustomed 2 free throws. In another thread Mutantducky brought up a scenario where he was adamant that he'd award free throws to a shooter that has released the shot and no longer in the act of shooting. By rule he was wrong but in his defense I've seen it multiple times. It's almost as if in practice, if the ball is still in the air, the shots are awarded even if the shooter is no longer in the act of shooting. Why would the letter of the rule not be followed in this circumstance but the letter of the rule was important his circumstance? To qualify this, I'm not saying I have an opinion one way or the other. I'm here because understanding the rules and there interpretations make me a better coach and has helped immensely in communicating with officials properly. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			It is a matter of penalizing more the rules allow for the infraction that has occurred (shooter having already landed) vs. applying judgement to not call a foul on the 2nd contact since it can be judged that two contacts typically don't create any more disadvantage than one. However, the multiple foul exists for that one time that is just might be needed.
		 
				__________________ Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jan 14, 2015 at 11:17am. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Just like in society, there are some rules that are never enforced. The rule/case books are in need of editing. Multiple fouls happen every game. It is NEVER called/adjudicated properly. There are countless times when a shooter near the basket gets fouled by more than one person. Only one foul is called. I've even seen plays where an official jokingly says aloud "pick one." Just like Rule 4-24 Article 7 happens EVERY game and is not enforced based on letter of rule. (I sense another topic coming) Art 7. It is not legal to use the hand and/or forearm to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when throwing for goal. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			[QUOTE=bob jenkins;950236] Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			[QUOTE=potato;950388]It's the penalty for each of the fouls that is a part of the multiple foul.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| 7 points in a championship game....7 dang points?! | OrStBballRef | Basketball | 30 | Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:17am | 
| Int Between Player who has already scored and F2 | Rattlehead | Softball | 6 | Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:14pm | 
| How is this play scored? | John Robertson | Baseball | 21 | Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:43pm | 
| How's this scored? | akalsey | Baseball | 8 | Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:17pm | 
| Run scored | CK | Baseball | 10 | Tue Jul 08, 2003 05:51pm |