The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2015, 10:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Think there used to be a similar case play for a throw-in after a made basket that if the new offensive team doesnt get out of bounds properly to make the throw in and its apparent they cannot make the proper throw-in.
Slight difference in that the play involved a situation where the throw in team just skipped the proper throw in.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2015, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Wait until an actual violation occurs -- either five seconds or the thrower leaving the designated spot.
Right.

9.2.1B

Note that NCAAW (at least) is different. Readminister the throw-in. AR 165.

I prefer the FED case.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2015, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Right.

9.2.1B

Note that NCAAW (at least) is different. Readminister the throw-in. AR 165.

I prefer the FED case.
In NCAAW, could a player do this intentionally to avoid a five-second count?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2015, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Wait until an actual violation occurs -- either five seconds or the thrower leaving the designated spot.
So, would this be legal:

Spot throw-in:

Inbounder dribbles the ball off his leg, it rolls down the sideline out of bounds 5-10 feet ish where a spectator tosses it back to him. He inbounds it. As long as this is accomplished before the 5 seconds count, and he doesn't leave the spot, is this legal?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 12:34am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
ha, I was just about to ask that too. I'm thinking violation. that would be interesting.
Also, I suppose this not a violation? Player makes a bounce pass, so it hits out of bounds(in front of the passer) first then inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
So, would this be legal:

Spot throw-in:

Inbounder dribbles the ball off his leg, it rolls down the sideline out of bounds 5-10 feet ish where a spectator tosses it back to him. He inbounds it. As long as this is accomplished before the 5 seconds count, and he doesn't leave the spot, is this legal?
When the spectator interferes in the middle of the throw-in the play should be whistled dead and the throw-in readministered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
ha, I was just about to ask that too. I'm thinking violation. that would be interesting.
Also, I suppose this not a violation? Player makes a bounce pass, so it hits out of bounds(in front of the passer) first then inbounds.
Wrong on both counts. Now please return to your JV girls game in which players will be awarded FTs when fouled after the act of shooting has ended.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 12:53am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
So, would this be legal:

Spot throw-in:

Inbounder dribbles the ball off his leg, it rolls down the sideline out of bounds 5-10 feet ish where a spectator tosses it back to him. He inbounds it. As long as this is accomplished before the 5 seconds count, and he doesn't leave the spot, is this legal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
When the spectator interferes in the middle of the throw-in the play should be whistled dead and the throw-in readministered.



Wrong on both counts. Now please return to your JV girls game in which players will be awarded FTs when fouled after the act of shooting has ended.

Nevada:

Would you agree that the above play in red is really no different that if A1's inbounds pass to A2 was a bounce pass that after leaving A1's hands touched out-of-bounds before crossing through the boundary line plane and therefore is a throw-in violation by A1?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 07:35am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Fumbles The Throwin ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
9.2.1B
9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a)
muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball
from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the
fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations
and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should
be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for
leaving the designated spot.

Nice citation, but this play doesn't tell us what to do if he doesn't leave the designated spot?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 08:10am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a)
muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball
from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the
fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations
and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should
be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for
leaving the designated spot.

Nice citation, but this play doesn't tell us what to do if he doesn't leave the designated spot?
Continue doing what you were doing, which was counting to 5.

Obviously, by stating that we call a violation for A1 leaving the spot, there is a time between the fumble and violation that we are not supposed to anything but continue counting.

A lot better question to advance the conversation would be, "can Team A call a time-out after the fumble?"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jan 13, 2015 at 08:13am.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Nevada:

Would you agree that the above play in red is really no different that if A1's inbounds pass to A2 was a bounce pass that after leaving A1's hands touched out-of-bounds before crossing through the boundary line plane and therefore is a throw-in violation by A1?

MTD, Sr.
No, one is a pass and the other is a fumble. One is a deliberate act while the other is unintentional.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Edit: Made my own thread.

Last edited by zm1283; Tue Jan 13, 2015 at 11:34am.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
A lot better question to advance the conversation would be, "can Team A call a time-out after the fumble?"
I would grant the TO. I'm not aware of any rule/case that suggests we wouldn't because the thrower is not holding the ball. As I understand it, player control does not exist during a throw in -- just team control. So the rules for a TO with a live ball and the clock running can't apply.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Continue doing what you were doing, which was counting to 5.

Obviously, by stating that we call a violation for A1 leaving the spot, there is a time between the fumble and violation that we are not supposed to anything but continue counting.

A lot better question to advance the conversation would be, "can Team A call a time-out after the fumble?"
i was asking myself that also. you can grant a timeout when the ball is "at disposal" of a player OR in control of a player. "at disposal" occurs when you bounce or hand him the ball. or place it at spot on resumption of play or after a goal when it is available AND you start counting. it doesn't require possession of the ball. i would allow the timeout if ball rolls away. we know in reality that the player will likely chase after it as soon as he loses it but i think he should get the TO if he knew to ask for it without leaving the designated spot.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Also, I suppose this not a violation? Player makes a bounce pass, so it hits out of bounds(in front of the passer) first then inbounds.
We've danced around this one for a while but the ruling is not clear in the thread. I'm curious because it happened to me in a camp game two summers ago; I wasn't sure, but none of the clinicians brought it up.

A1's throw-in bounce pass was roughly parallel to the sideline and bounced out of bounds before A2 grabbed it downstream on the inbounds side of the plane. Honestly, I ruled violation because it didn't "look" right. I later checked the rulebook and I think I was right because the throw-in wasn't released "directly" into the court. But does this "directly" clause infer that the ball cannot touch out of bounds on the way in? I'm not sure. Or is there a different interpretation that I'm not considering?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 11:10am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
We've danced around this one for a while but the ruling is not clear in the thread. I'm curious because it happened to me in a camp game two summers ago; I wasn't sure, but none of the clinicians brought it up.

A1's throw-in bounce pass was roughly parallel to the sideline and bounced out of bounds before A2 grabbed it downstream on the inbounds side of the plane. Honestly, I ruled violation because it didn't "look" right. I later checked the rulebook and I think I was right because the throw-in wasn't released "directly" into the court. But does this "directly" clause infer that the ball cannot touch out of bounds on the way in? I'm not sure. Or is there a different interpretation that I'm not considering?
Yes, that's what "directly" means in this case.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
Throw in after T... Chess Ref Basketball 20 Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:53am
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1