![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Think there used to be a similar case play for a throw-in after a made basket that if the new offensive team doesnt get out of bounds properly to make the throw in and its apparent they cannot make the proper throw-in.
|
|
|||
|
Wait until an actual violation occurs -- either five seconds or the thrower leaving the designated spot.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
9.2.1B Note that NCAAW (at least) is different. Readminister the throw-in. AR 165. I prefer the FED case. |
|
|||
|
In NCAAW, could a player do this intentionally to avoid a five-second count?
|
|
|||
|
Fumbles The Throwin ...
9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a)
muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for leaving the designated spot. Nice citation, but this play doesn't tell us what to do if he doesn't leave the designated spot?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Obviously, by stating that we call a violation for A1 leaving the spot, there is a time between the fumble and violation that we are not supposed to anything but continue counting. A lot better question to advance the conversation would be, "can Team A call a time-out after the fumble?"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jan 13, 2015 at 08:13am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Spot throw-in: Inbounder dribbles the ball off his leg, it rolls down the sideline out of bounds 5-10 feet ish where a spectator tosses it back to him. He inbounds it. As long as this is accomplished before the 5 seconds count, and he doesn't leave the spot, is this legal? |
|
|||
|
ha, I was just about to ask that too. I'm thinking violation. that would be interesting.
Also, I suppose this not a violation? Player makes a bounce pass, so it hits out of bounds(in front of the passer) first then inbounds. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Fumble on throw in and free throw | billyu2 | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm |
| Throw in after T... | Chess Ref | Basketball | 20 | Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:53am |
| throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
| 3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
| Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |