The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99038-throw.html)

rab3838 Mon Jan 12, 2015 07:29pm

Throw-in
 
My question is...Can a player that has a spot throw-in bounce the ball before the throw-in?

deecee Mon Jan 12, 2015 07:34pm

What makes you think he cannot?

rab3838 Mon Jan 12, 2015 07:45pm

I had this happen to me on Sat. night and the Coach wanted a violation called, but I did not make it.

crosscountry55 Mon Jan 12, 2015 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 949939)
What makes you think he cannot?


For rab3838, the answer is "yes". Absolutely. See the "NOTE" at the end of Rule 4-43. In fact, doesn't matter if it's a designated sport throw-in or not.

Adam Mon Jan 12, 2015 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rab3838 (Post 949941)
I had this happen to me on Sat. night and the Coach wanted a violation called, but I did not make it.

You'll find coaches think all sorts of actions are violations. They're rarely right. He's probably had it called against him by a brand new official.

Coach Bill Mon Jan 12, 2015 09:00pm

Spot throw-in: What if the inbounder dribbles it off his foot and the ball rolls outside the 3-foot box while remaining out of bounds. Is it violation immediately or do u wait until the five second count?

Adam Mon Jan 12, 2015 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 949947)
Spot throw-in: What if the inbounder dribbles it off his foot and the ball rolls outside the 3-foot box while remaining out of bounds. Is it violation immediately or do u wait until the five second count?

Violation immediately.

just another ref Mon Jan 12, 2015 09:08pm

Okay to bounce it as long as he doesn't bounce it inbounds.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 12, 2015 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rab3838 (Post 949938)
My question is...Can a player that has a spot throw-in bounce the ball before the throw-in?


9.2.2 SITUATION D:

A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in.

RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 12, 2015 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 949947)
Spot throw-in: What if the inbounder dribbles it off his foot and the ball rolls outside the 3-foot box while remaining out of bounds. Is it violation immediately or do u wait until the five second count?

Wait until an actual violation occurs -- either five seconds or the thrower leaving the designated spot.

AremRed Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 949948)
Violation immediately.

What violation has occurred pray tell?

Mark Padgett Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 949946)
You'll find coaches think...

Never start a sentence this way. :rolleyes:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 949946)
You'll find coaches think all sorts of actions are violations. They're rarely right. He's probably had it called against him by a brand new official.


You are giving coaches too much credit, :p.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 949960)
What violation has occurred pray tell?

You're right, I was thinking of the free throw scenario. That's a violation immediately. This, you can wait 5 seconds or use the free throw as precedent.

SNIPERBBB Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:52pm

Think there used to be a similar case play for a throw-in after a made basket that if the new offensive team doesnt get out of bounds properly to make the throw in and its apparent they cannot make the proper throw-in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1