![]() |
|
|
|||
Timing question
Trying to settle an argument.
For purposes of this discussion, assume perfect knowledge of the clock at all times mentioned, including TV replay if necessary. Shooter begins to elevate with 0.2 seconds on the clock, and is fouled with 0.1 seconds on the clock. Fully 1 second later the still airborne shooter releases the ball, and it goes in. Count the basket? Mention ruleset if it makes a difference. Mention rule or caseplay if it applies.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The basket doesn't count because the ball was not released prior to time expiring. However, since he was in the act of shooting when the foul occurred, two (or three) free throws are awarded. If the ball was in flight when time expired, count it.
|
|
|||
Count the basket, shooter to the line for 1 shot, .1 seconds on the clock.
Although I would hope that the official would have better game awareness than calling this foul, unless its a hatchet job, because in reality this shot "technically" won't count had the foul not occur. Even though I strongly believe in calling a foul when it occurs, there are rare instances where common sense, and awareness needs to be present.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
In this case, count the basket and put .1 on the clock.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Sometimes lack of awareness and maybe a desire to show that you know the rules puts an official in predicaments that they (heck not many really) may be ill-equipped to handle.
Short of a very obvious foul in such an instance I don't see why an official would want to call something ticky-tacky. In this instance barring a foul the shot would be waved off. Why reward the offense for marginal contact?
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
And, those types of contact shouldn't (generally) be called at any time. |
|
|||
Quote:
It merely tells us that the shooter begins his motion at that time. |
|
||||
Quote:
Count the basket, 1 shot, put the .1 back up on the clock.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
OK ... now that we have (nearly) unanimous agreement on that ...
Same situation - no replay - no definite knowledge of exactly how much time was on the clock ... just the order of events - shot starts; foul happens; buzzer sounds; then noticably after the buzzer --- shot leaves the shooter's hand and then goes in.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
You are. Walt's and JEff's answers are incorrect.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Timing Question | NJOfficial | Basketball | 15 | Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:09pm |
Timing question | DrMooreReferee | Football | 8 | Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:31pm |
Timing question | Moshiner1345 | Football | 7 | Thu Sep 25, 2008 08:27pm |
Fed timing question | ljudge | Football | 11 | Sun Aug 05, 2007 08:23pm |
timing question | Troward | Basketball | 22 | Sat Nov 02, 2002 10:52pm |