The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2010, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Timing question

Play#1 K punts and has an illegal formation at the snap. R25 receives the punt, returns it 5 yards and is tackled inbounds. If R accepts the penalty, the clock starts on the ready. He was tackled inbounds.

Play#2 K punts and has an illegal formation at the snap. R25 receives the punt and returns it 5 yards and goes out of bounds. If R accepts the penalty, the clock starts on the snap since he went out of bounds.

Play#3 K punts and has an illegal formation at the snap. R25 gives a valid faircatch signal and makes the fair catch. If R accepts the penalty, the clock starts on the snap. I think I'm right about this due to the fair catch.

Play#4 K punts and has an illegal formation at the snap. R25 gives a valid fair catch signal. But teammate R33 actually makes the catch. Now, we know that this is not a fair catch. But if R accepts the penalty, I'm thinking maybe the clock still starts on the snap. Because we still killed it because of the fair catch signal.


Take a look at these please. And tell me where I'm messing up. Because something doesn't feel right about #4
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2010, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Just my guess, but I would think your assessment of starting the clock on the subsequent snap is correct because NF: 6-5-3 advises, "Only the receiver who gives a valid signal is afforded protection. If, after a receiver signals, the catch is made by a teammate, it is not a FC but the ball becomes dead."

It is the act of catching the kick (after a valid FC signal) that causes the clock to stop.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2010, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 121
I'm just a fan here, but aren't all four of these an "apparent change of possession"--meaning we start on the snap?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 09, 2010, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fan10 View Post
I'm just a fan here, but aren't all four of these an "apparent change of possession"--meaning we start on the snap?
Part of the problem here (and the reason not many are answering this) is that the poster did not post the ruleset being used here. The answer is actually different depending on what level we're playing at.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 09, 2010, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Part of the problem here (and the reason not many are answering this) is that the poster did not post the ruleset being used here. The answer is actually different depending on what level we're playing at.

I assumed it was NFHS due to him using Team K and Team R. NCAA does not use K and R. Only A and B.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 11, 2010, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Clock stopped because there was a change of possession and would have started on the snap in all 4 instances. With or without the foul, I believe the clock would start on the snap for the next play regardless of penalty acceptance.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2010, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Part of the problem here (and the reason not many are answering this) is that the poster did not post the ruleset being used here. The answer is actually different depending on what level we're playing at.
True, I left out a big part. Sorry about that. NFHS rules is what I'm talking about here.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2010, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
Clock stopped because there was a change of possession and would have started on the snap in all 4 instances. With or without the foul, I believe the clock would start on the snap for the next play regardless of penalty acceptance.
??? really??
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
football fan

I'm a football fan, i like play football. gald to talk about football with you. this time I wear Vibram Five Fingers Shoes watch World Cup, great game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing question Moshiner1345 Football 7 Thu Sep 25, 2008 08:27pm
Fed timing question ljudge Football 11 Sun Aug 05, 2007 08:23pm
Timing Question ljudge Football 9 Mon Oct 17, 2005 10:03am
another timing question A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 7 Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:24pm
Timing Question TGR Basketball 6 Thu Jan 13, 2000 02:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1