![]() |
|
|
|||
Questioning Partner's Call
I had a play where my partner called a backcourt violation on inbounds where I thought the player catching the ball inbounds did not establish team control in the front court before going into the backcourt. My partner was the trail official, so I went up to him and asked him whether the player established team control in the front court. He replied by saying don't make this awkward and stop questioning my call. After the quarter I told him I was not intending to make this personal, I just wanted to make sure we had the call right. He then said that how could I have seen it better as Lead when he was on top of it as Trail. Granted he is still a fairly new official, but he acts very defensively and took this personally.
A couple of days later, I get an email with a veiled question of "what do you think of the first paragraph on page 307 in the Rules by Topic?" I returned, "what about it?" He then writes: "Could you compare and contrast our situation with another of your choice to help me better understand why what happened Saturday was as you put normal of partners to do?" The rule he is referencing is: Quote:
I'm wondering how you guys apply this rule in your games? |
|
|||
let it go...
What kind of game (level) were you working?
My advice: let it go, and ask your assignor not to pair you with him again. My guess is that your partner called what he saw--let him live or die with the call. |
|
|||
I tried to let it go during the game by telling him that my intentions were not personal.
Additionally, I'm the assignor for the club level games here in this region. I want to know the most tactful way of approaching this. |
|
|||
New officials are going to miss calls for 1-30 years. Their self esteem is going to be on shaky ground for a long time. I do not think it is wise to question a decision from that far away for several reason. It is not a game changer or a HS game where this could decide the game in the last 30 seconds. Only time I extend my area is on a blatant everyone in the gym knows you missed an elbow to the face kind of call. A violation is not one of those we have to get or extend my area.
You clearly embarrassed a rookie and made him feel bad. We should be aware enough to apologize and move on right there and then. I wouldnt have ever brought it up again because clearly he has zero interest in help from you. Here is how I would have brought it up later. Steve it took me forever to memorize all the strange rules about backcourt. I have read articles with 1k words trying to help explain every possible scenario. I love to talk about these with referees and just wanted to ask some questions to help make sure I make good back court violation calls. Can I ask what you saw? Was his feet were when he received the ball. That is the trick to helping make great back court calls. If he is unsure what he saw then you know he missed it and thats the life of a new ref. If he saw it and applied the rules incorrectly you say. Thats tricky. Mind if I send some case book references after I study it tonight? As for how to respond to him now. I am sorry. My point was not to embarass you. I should have discussed it with you later. It is not a game changing play and I dont need to come over to you for it. You are new and I was trying to help and over stepped my bounds. It will not happen again. We have all done something like this. You might re-evaluate when you are going to help a rookie. He might never get better because he gets so defensive. I hope none of this sounds like I am harping on you. Just my two cents. Whomever told me to read Verbal Judo. Thanks again. Really helped my life and my refereeing and I strongly suggest it to every referee, heck every person out there to help every part of their life and communication with others.
__________________
BigT "The rookie" |
|
|||
Having started my second season, I try to tell partners in the pregame that if they see something obvious I miss, call it if necessary and then let's discuss it at halftime or post-game (so I can turn it into a learning experience).
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball |
|
|||
That is what I was going to say. Working to make sure we get calls right from a "not blowing it because we don't know the rules" standpoint is different than saying "Hey you shouldn't have called that" from 40 feet away. Change your own call with more information on a rule and me changing your call for you, they are two different things.
Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Wed Oct 23, 2013 at 04:24pm. |
|
|||
That said, if he still has a cob up his ass about the situation, I'd just write him off. Apologize (high road and all that) and move on. Block him if you want (I probably would) if he's that much of a dick about it.[/QUOTE]
+1..Sadly like in life itself we run across partners who are dead heads with bad attitudes ![]() |
|
|||
Lots of good advice. My addition would be to calmly point out to him that you were not trying to overrule him at the time, and would never do that. You were simply bringing information to him. How he chooses to respond to that communication is up to him. My communication to him would be (name is made-up)...
"Mike, I was not trying to overrule you. If it came across that way, then I am sorry. I was just trying to bring you some information I thought was important at the time. Won't happen again." |
|
|||
Quote:
Given that you did, and that you are the assigner, my advice would be to apologize for it. that's not to excuse his later actions. |
|
|||
I only bring information that is definitive. If you only "thought" you saw it one way then, IMO, you should wait until after the game (or halftime) and ask your partner what he had on that play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Unfortunately, I'm now having to address the fallout of an official who believes that the partner has no right to confer with his partner about his call. And now that I have reviewed the rulebook, none of the referee duties actually list a judgment on the play which means that it's not one of the things that cannot be questioned as this official believes it to be. But again, I'm for a tactful response where I'm not being condescending but at the same time not willing to compromise on the principle that as a crew our main goal is to help each other out to get the call right. Last edited by Afrosheen; Wed Oct 23, 2013 at 01:47pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Or, if you have to go to where he is to administer the throw-in, just ask your partner "everything okay?" or something to try to get him to open up for an explanation. And, yes, it's tough to figure out what to do because every situation is a little different. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
"That is my partner's call." | JRutledge | Basketball | 31 | Wed Dec 26, 2012 05:17pm |
Questioning my T | fiasco | Basketball | 115 | Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:31am |
Questioning my call | Beemer | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:04pm |
Changing your partner's call | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 109 | Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:02pm |
Correcting Partner's Call | Just Curious | Softball | 12 | Wed Mar 21, 2001 12:03pm |