The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 44
Question Questioning my call

I made this call a few months back and I had forgotten about it, but I'd like to get varying opinions. I do realize that I might get hammered for this, but nonetheless...

On a rebound, player B1 has about a foot in-between the player he is responsible for, A1. B1 is between A1 and the basket as the ball comes to them. Its a little too high for B1's current position, headed over his head to A1 (who hasn't moved at all mind you). A1 goes straight up, and B1 jumps backwards and draws some contact with A1. B1 gets the rebound, and I tweet my whistle. Foul on B1.

HC for Team B is not happy, and proceeds to tell me "OK, your wrong on this one." (added just for emphasis).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 03:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Did the contact displace or impede A1 at all? If not, no call. If yes, B1 is responsible for the contact so it may have been a good call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer
I made this call a few months back and I had forgotten about it, but I'd like to get varying opinions. I do realize that I might get hammered for this, but nonetheless...

On a rebound, player B1 has about a foot in-between the player he is responsible for, A1. B1 is between A1 and the basket as the ball comes to them. Its a little too high for B1's current position, headed over his head to A1 (who hasn't moved at all mind you). A1 goes straight up, and B1 jumps backwards and draws some contact with A1. B1 gets the rebound, and I tweet my whistle. Foul on B1.

HC for Team B is not happy, and proceeds to tell me "OK, your wrong on this one." (added just for emphasis).
Did the contact initiated by B1 put A1 at a disadvantage? I would have to see the play. Apparently you felt that B1's contact put A1 at a disadvantage and that's why we are paid to make those determinations.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 03:04pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,061
The issue is verticality and you cannot jump into someone else’s space and displace another player. I was not there and I cannot tell you if the contact was minor and incidental or major and necessary to call. Then again if players are very close together, I might decide to leave it alone. Then again that is just speculation on my part.

And I would not put too much stock into what the coach says. They think a player that has “position” can do whatever they want and it is legal. I would not question your call based on that logic.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer
I made this call a few months back and I had forgotten about it, but I'd like to get varying opinions. I do realize that I might get hammered for this, but nonetheless...

On a rebound, player B1 has about a foot in-between the player he is responsible for, A1. B1 is between A1 and the basket as the ball comes to them. Its a little too high for B1's current position, headed over his head to A1 (who hasn't moved at all mind you). A1 goes straight up, and B1 jumps backwards and draws some contact with A1. B1 gets the rebound, and I tweet my whistle. Foul on B1.

HC for Team B is not happy, and proceeds to tell me "OK, your wrong on this one." (added just for emphasis).
The contact is caused by B1 getting into position for a rebound. A1 is entitled to his/her vertical space....good call if you thought there was enough disadvantage.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer
I made this call a few months back and I had forgotten about it, but I'd like to get varying opinions. I do realize that I might get hammered for this, but nonetheless...

On a rebound, player B1 has about a foot in-between the player he is responsible for, A1. B1 is between A1 and the basket as the ball comes to them. Its a little too high for B1's current position, headed over his head to A1 (who hasn't moved at all mind you). A1 goes straight up, and B1 jumps backwards and draws some contact with A1. B1 gets the rebound, and I tweet my whistle. Foul on B1.

HC for Team B is not happy, and proceeds to tell me "OK, your wrong on this one." (added just for emphasis).

Tough one, have to see it. I may have passed, but just my two cents.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 03:11pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Too many people, coaches included, think that if a player has inside position, it is impossible for him/her to commit a foul.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Too many people, coaches included, think that if a player has inside position, it is impossible for him/her to commit a foul.
...even more believe that if a player gets the rebound from behind the player with inside position he must have been over the back!
__________________
“Idealism is fine, but as it approaches reality the cost becomes prohibitive.” --William F. Buckley
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 44
You definetly have to see the play, its so tough to respond to posts like these, but all thoughts are well appreciated. I wanted to omit this in the OP because I felt it would take the replies in an unintended direction, but my thoughts now are that I should have just let it go. The contact was so minor that my quick whistle got me in trouble. I've been trying to be more patient and see the whole play develop, and if I had that time it would have been just another routine play.

In the future though, if there is enough contact and an advantage is had, I'll much more confident in my call.

Thanks guys (and gals).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
I'm reading B1 with inside position broke his vertical plane and went into A1's plane causing contact...not seeing the contact, you have what you need to make the call IF the contact placed A1 at a disadvantage...If A1 truly went straight up in his plane, and B1's contact caused A1 to be at a disadvantage, this is a good call (again, not having see the contact, it's hard to say). If it was minor as you indicated and no adv/disadv then let em play....
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
From what you describe it was a good call.

What if A1 undercuts B1 causing a push from behind by B1? Would you call the foul on B1?

A1 is driving towards the basket beats B1. B2 is the help defender establish LGP jumps straight up within his/her vertical plane A1 draws contact in the torso of B2 what's the call?

Hint: B2 doesn't have to stay on the floor.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questioning Integrity of Officials & League UES Football 33 Wed Dec 26, 2007 01:12pm
So you wanna be a ref in the CFL?: How does fan abuse, constant questioning from coac saskbucks Football 3 Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:28pm
questioning the merits of certain backcourt rules ysong Basketball 41 Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:02am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1