The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 04:05pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Well if the foul occurs during a throw-in, then the point of interruption is the throw-in...meaning the next throw-in spot won't change. The throw-in doesn't end until it is legally touched. So while you were right that it would go back to the throw-in spot (which I'm guessing was your position), you were right for the wrong reason. It has nothing to do with ball location in this situation but rather what the POI is.

2013-2014 NFHS Case Book

4.19.8 SITUATION F: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, and before it is legally touched, A2 and B2 commit fouls against each other.

RULING: When a double foul occurs, play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A's throw-in had not ended, the point of interruption would be a throw-in by Team A. (4-36-2b; 10 Penalty 1c)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Well if the foul occurs during a throw-in, then the point of interruption is the throw-in...meaning the next throw-in spot won't change. The throw-in doesn't end until it is legally touched. So while you were right that it would go back to the throw-in spot (which I'm guessing was your position), you were right for the wrong reason. It has nothing to do with ball location in this situation but rather what the POI is.

2013-2014 NFHS Case Book

4.19.8 SITUATION F: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, and before it is legally touched, A2 and B2 commit fouls against each other.

RULING: When a double foul occurs, play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A's throw-in had not ended, the point of interruption would be a throw-in by Team A. (4-36-2b; 10 Penalty 1c)
The foul was not during a throw in, it was during a pass from A1 to A2 and occurred while ball in the air. Question was where the THROW-IN should be after the double foul occurs while ball is in the air on pass. Point where ball was in air when foul occurred or Point where A1 last had contact with the ball. I re-read my question and see how I did not state it well. The heading was the question we were trying to answer, not part of the situation to be read with rest of True/False statement.

Last edited by pop_ey; Wed Sep 25, 2013 at 04:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 04:26pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by pop_ey View Post
The foul was not during a throw in, it was during a pass from A1 to A2 and occurred while ball in the air. Question was where the THROW-IN should be after the double foul occurs while ball is in the air on pass. Point where ball was in air when foul occurred or Point where A1 last had contact with the ball. I re-read my question and see how I did not state it well. The heading was the question we were trying to answer, not part of the situation to be read with rest of True/False statement.
My mistake.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 05:01pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Since it was a pass, and team A is still has possession of the ball during the pass, wouldnt it be the spot closest to where the ball was at when the foul occured?

Example

A passes at free throw line in backcourt, towards the front court. Double foul happens as the ball is crossing the division line. Would the throw in be at the division line? Or does it go to end line?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 05:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,465
The Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle, ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A passes at free throw line in backcourt, towards the front court. Double foul happens as the ball is crossing the division line. Would the throw in be at the division line? Or does it go to end line?
Endline.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 05:22pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Endline.

I was just thinking maybe at division line, but it isn't where the ball was located at in flight, it goes to where it was last touched/possessed at.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul During AP Throw-In bob jenkins Basketball 176 Fri Apr 08, 2011 09:22pm
Throw-in, Double Foul tjones1 Basketball 48 Wed Oct 22, 2008 02:06pm
Double Foul During Free Throw cropduster Basketball 63 Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am
Double foul off the ball rbruno Basketball 1 Sat Feb 17, 2007 06:58pm
Double foul on throw-in clarification blindzebra Basketball 2 Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1