![]() |
|
|
|||
Throw-in, Double Foul
Team A has the ball for a throw-in. A1 is the thrower. After A1 releases the ball and while the ball is still in the air (untouched by B and A), a double foul is called on B3 and A2.
What's the ruling? __________________________ I say report the double foul and then give the ball back to Team A for a throw-in via POI, since the throw-in never ended. Another says report the double foul and then go AP. What's the ruling? |
|
|||
Fed Rules: 6-4-3g
It's AP if a double personal foul occurs and the POI is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved. (It's a throw-in, so there is no team control) The other person is right. Go to the arrow. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by tjones1; Mon Oct 20, 2008 at 10:28pm. |
|
|||
That rule just talks about POI. You still inbound the ball at the POI, but the AP determines who gets to throw it in at the POI.
|
|
|||
Yes, but 4-36-1 says:
Method of resuming play due to ... a double personal foul... . Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods: a. ... b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. c. AP (which is basically 6-4-3g again) To me, the throw-in was still occurring when the infraction took place. The throw-in was never touched by Team A or Team B. Why can't you go back to it? Just having a hard time buying you go AP. To me, you punish the throw-in team. If Team A has the arrow and just scores a bucket. Team B on their throw-in releases the ball without anyone touching it, B4 and A4 get banged with a double foul, you're giving the ball to Team A via the AP. Seems like they gain a huge advantage. |
|
|||
Buzzzz. Thanks for playing.
The ball goes back to A for a throw-in. The AP arrow does not figure into this at all. NFHS 4-36-2-b "A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such." The interruption occurred during the throw-in. The POI is the throw-in.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Mon Oct 20, 2008 at 11:00pm. Reason: To add, you've got your ruling Mr. Jones. Don't let anybody confuse you with the arrow in this sitch. |
|
|||
So I'm bemused by the constant confusion over when to go to the AP. The AP is the last resort for POI. Yet so often I hear people wanting to make it the first choice.
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Now, zm1283. I totally agree with you had the throw-in ended. |
|
|||
As if on cue.
Referee Magazine, page 22, "Test Yourself" 2. After a goal by team A, B1 is holding the ball out of bounds on the endline for the ensuing throw-in. Before the throw-in ends, A2 and B3 are called for a double foul near the division line. How shall play continue? a. Alternating possession throw-in. b. Team B shall receive the throw-in. c. The throw-in shall be nearest the spot of the foul. d. The throw-in shall be anywhere along the endline where the original throw-in was to occur. e. The throw-in shall be at a designated spot along the endline where the original throw-in was to occur. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double Foul During Free Throw | cropduster | Basketball | 63 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am |
Double Violation on free throw | Largent | Basketball | 11 | Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm |
Double foul on throw-in clarification | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm |
Double base / errant throw redux | Dakota | Softball | 3 | Tue Aug 06, 2002 09:40pm |
Free Throw/Double Violation? | OK Ref | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am |