The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball for throw in after double foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96167-ball-throw-after-double-foul.html)

pop_ey Wed Sep 25, 2013 03:09pm

Ball for throw in after double foul
 
Help with aurgument here. True or False.

While A1's pass is in the air towards A2, A3 and B3 commit a "double foul". Ruling: Charge the fouls and award the ball to Team A nearest to the spot when A1 was last in control.

Adam Wed Sep 25, 2013 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pop_ey (Post 906015)
Help with aurgument here. True or False.

While A1's pass is in the air towards A2, A3 and B3 commit a "double foul". Ruling: Charge the fouls and award the ball to Team A nearest to the spot when A1 was last in control.

Not quite worded correctly, but likely correct. The ball would be awarded to A (due to team control) at the OOB spot nearest the ball's location at the time of the foul. The trick is to know how to determine the legal location of the ball.

pop_ey Wed Sep 25, 2013 03:42pm

Showed him the error of his ways.
 
Agreement settled. My partner was trying to say throw-in would be at point ball was located (in air) at time of foul. I was trying to get him to see that ball would be located at point that A1 was last in contact of ball - Defination of Ball Locaton 4-4-3.

My partner found following: In the 2006-2007 interps



SITUATION 2: Post players A5 and B5 are called for a double personal foul while the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 in A's backcourt to A2 in A's frontcourt. RULING: Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in in A's backcourt nearest to where A1 was last in contact with the ball. (4-4-3; 4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)

And saw the error of his ways!

APG Wed Sep 25, 2013 04:05pm

Well if the foul occurs during a throw-in, then the point of interruption is the throw-in...meaning the next throw-in spot won't change. The throw-in doesn't end until it is legally touched. So while you were right that it would go back to the throw-in spot (which I'm guessing was your position), you were right for the wrong reason. It has nothing to do with ball location in this situation but rather what the POI is.

2013-2014 NFHS Case Book

4.19.8 SITUATION F: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, and before it is legally touched, A2 and B2 commit fouls against each other.

RULING: When a double foul occurs, play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A's throw-in had not ended, the point of interruption would be a throw-in by Team A. (4-36-2b; 10 Penalty 1c)

pop_ey Wed Sep 25, 2013 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 906030)
Well if the foul occurs during a throw-in, then the point of interruption is the throw-in...meaning the next throw-in spot won't change. The throw-in doesn't end until it is legally touched. So while you were right that it would go back to the throw-in spot (which I'm guessing was your position), you were right for the wrong reason. It has nothing to do with ball location in this situation but rather what the POI is.

2013-2014 NFHS Case Book

4.19.8 SITUATION F: A1 releases the ball on a throw-in, and before it is legally touched, A2 and B2 commit fouls against each other.

RULING: When a double foul occurs, play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A's throw-in had not ended, the point of interruption would be a throw-in by Team A. (4-36-2b; 10 Penalty 1c)

The foul was not during a throw in, it was during a pass from A1 to A2 and occurred while ball in the air. Question was where the THROW-IN should be after the double foul occurs while ball is in the air on pass. Point where ball was in air when foul occurred or Point where A1 last had contact with the ball. I re-read my question and see how I did not state it well. The heading was the question we were trying to answer, not part of the situation to be read with rest of True/False statement.

APG Wed Sep 25, 2013 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pop_ey (Post 906033)
The foul was not during a throw in, it was during a pass from A1 to A2 and occurred while ball in the air. Question was where the THROW-IN should be after the double foul occurs while ball is in the air on pass. Point where ball was in air when foul occurred or Point where A1 last had contact with the ball. I re-read my question and see how I did not state it well. The heading was the question we were trying to answer, not part of the situation to be read with rest of True/False statement.

My mistake. :)

OKREF Wed Sep 25, 2013 05:01pm

Since it was a pass, and team A is still has possession of the ball during the pass, wouldnt it be the spot closest to where the ball was at when the foul occured?

Example

A passes at free throw line in backcourt, towards the front court. Double foul happens as the ball is crossing the division line. Would the throw in be at the division line? Or does it go to end line?

BillyMac Wed Sep 25, 2013 05:12pm

The Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle, ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 906035)
A passes at free throw line in backcourt, towards the front court. Double foul happens as the ball is crossing the division line. Would the throw in be at the division line? Or does it go to end line?

Endline.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7137/7...40b397d7_m.jpg

OKREF Wed Sep 25, 2013 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 906037)

I was just thinking maybe at division line, but it isn't where the ball was located at in flight, it goes to where it was last touched/possessed at.

Adam Wed Sep 25, 2013 05:33pm

Note, it could be where the ball bounced last.

BillyMac Wed Sep 25, 2013 06:00pm

It's An Amana Range ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 906039)
It goes to where it was last touched/possessed at.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 906040)
It could be where the ball bounced last.

I pick door number one.

Adam Thu Sep 26, 2013 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 906044)
I pick door number one.

How is ball location defined?

bob jenkins Thu Sep 26, 2013 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 906044)
I pick door number one.

You must have been blinded by the glare off the belt when you read the rule on this.

BillyMac Thu Sep 26, 2013 01:44pm

Confused In Connecticut ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 906044)
I pick door number one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 906078)
How is ball location defined?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 906081)
You must have been blinded by the glare off the belt when you read the rule on this.

SITUATION 2: Post players A5 and B5 are called for a double personal foul while the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 in A's backcourt to A2 in A's frontcourt. RULING: Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in in A's backcourt nearest to where A1 was last in contact with the ball. (4-4-3; 4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)

What am I not gettng here? I really wanted to win that Amana range.

BillyMac Thu Sep 26, 2013 01:48pm

Seriously ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 906081)
You must have been blinded by the glare off the belt when you read the rule on this.

Believe it, or not, I did purchase, and wear, the patent leather Zigs near the end of last season, and found the glare from them to be very distracting in my peripheral vision as I ran down the court. That's why I ordered the matte finish Zigs for this season.

I also find the pink whistles that we wear for a week to raise money for the American Cancer Society to be very distracting in my peripheral vision.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1