The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:17am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MathReferee View Post
I agree with your assessment of the defenders, except for them not having legs extended. It appears to me as if the offensive player's head and shoulders are past B42's torso before any contact is made between their lower bodies. This suggests to me that B42's legs are outside his frame and the reason I have a block. However, based on responses so far, I appear to be in the minority here.
As far as I know, having "legs extended" "outside the frame" is not one of the things that makes you lose Legal Guarding Position. As Cameron Rust mentioned, contact does not need to occur in the chest/torso to be a charge.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?
Well I would hope I picked up the push in the back first. That clearly is a foul to me. I cannot see any reason to call a foul on the two defenders standing together. I probably would have called either nothing on them or a PC foul if the push the in the back was not noticed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
As far as I know, having "legs extended" "outside the frame" is not one of the things that makes you lose Legal Guarding Position. As Cameron Rust mentioned, contact does not need to occur in the chest/torso to be a charge.
Well you must be within your frame, but that does not look like the issue here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 12:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?
...
If you rule that B1 pushed A1 how would you justify also calling a foul on A1 for subsequent contact?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
As far as I know, having "legs extended" "outside the frame" is not one of the things that makes you lose Legal Guarding Position. As Cameron Rust mentioned, contact does not need to occur in the chest/torso to be a charge.
While having a limb extended doesn't make a player lose LGP (contact in the torso can still be a charge regardless of the position of the legs and arms), it would be a block (or maybe a hold) if the contact is on the extended limb.

I don't think, however, in this play that either defender had a limb extended. They were both in a natural stance with their feet roughly shoulder width apart. It is quite possible for an opponent to get their head and shoulders by a fully legal defender and still make contact worthy of a charge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:54pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
While having a limb extended doesn't make a player lose LGP (contact in the torso can still be a charge regardless of the position of the legs and arms), it would be a block (or maybe a hold) if the contact is on the extended limb.
So if I am a defensive player standing in the lane like this:

and an offensive player decides to clothesline himself on my arm, what did I do wrong?

Here is what 4-23-1 says: "A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip, or leg into the path of the opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs."

Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
...
Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal?
You're making up your own interpretation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
I do not recall that the player in question was clotheslined and what I saw was a normal position with their body. Hard to tell anything else, but contact was certainly with the leg of one player and the lower body on the other.

As BNR stated, it sounds like you are making up an interpretation here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:15pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I do not recall that the player in question was clotheslined and what I saw was a normal position with their body. Hard to tell anything else, but contact was certainly with the leg of one player and the lower body on the other.
The play in question did not involve a clothesline, I posited my own situation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You're making up your own interpretation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
As BNR stated, it sounds like you are making up an interpretation here.
All interpretations are, by definition, made up.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:26pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
The play in question did not involve a clothesline, I posited my own situation.

All interpretations are, by definition, made up.
No they are not. They are made to illustrate the intent of the rule and how it is to be applied based on the position of the rulesmakers. So not they are not made up. That is why the NF produces a Casebook and a Simplified and Illustrated book to fill in the blanks. People often take an interpretation too far which I feel you are doing here. I know you did not say there was a clothesline, but no one said it was OK to clothesline someone just because they got to a sport first.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
...



All interpretations are, by definition, made up.
Are you trying to learn how to properly adjudicate a play or win a battle of semantics?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
So if I am a defensive player standing in the lane like this:

and an offensive player decides to clothesline himself on my arm, what did I do wrong?

Here is what 4-23-1 says: "A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip, or leg into the path of the opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs."

Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal?
If the contact is on one of the outstretched arms, then, yes, it's a block.

If the contact is in the torso, then it's a charge despite the outstretched arms.

(In both cases assuming other requirements are met)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 02:39pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If the contact is in the torso, then it's a charge despite the outstretched arms.
Are the smiley face boxer shorts part of the torso? Rule quote please.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 05:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Bravo ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
My nomination for "Image O' The Month".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 06, 2013, 12:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to swerv17
I'm looking at this play from a "science" standpoint and than an "art" standpoint. Initially, the drive is coming out of T's area. At the point of contact, you can't even see the T in the picture. The L is already set at the end line and ready to receive the play. Initially, you want the T to be at the 28' mark which you can see marked on the court. When there is contact in the lane, there is a good 1-2 seconds before you see the trail in the picture. I would like to see the T already connected to this play and walk it to the rim so that when contact occurs, it is more viable and believable. I think the L could be more at a close down/pinch the paint mode. As far as the "art" side, the official does not give a preliminary in the video, unless he gave it before you see him in the frame. You just see him pointing. I think he could project more strength, which would have come from giving a pre signal. A lot have commented on the push before the contact. Ask yourself this: which is the elephant and which is the ant? I don't think the "push" had any effect on the offensive player, but the contact caused by him was the greater of the two, or the elephant, IMO. Great play for discussion!
__________________
"I don't referee to be perfect, I referee to be excellent."- Tre Maddox, NBA referee

Keep learning and geting better. Give back what you have learned and experienced to someone else. We'll all be better officials for it.

"Rules competency breeds calmness and confidence in chaos."-Vince Iandoli

"I guess it comes down to a simple choice, really. Get busy living or get busy dying." - Andy Dufresne, The Shawshank Redemption
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screening plays from our friends at the DVBOA JetMetFan Basketball 58 Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:17pm
DVBOA...Phantom travels JetMetFan Basketball 28 Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:27am
DVBOA...Fans & noise makers JetMetFan Basketball 15 Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:34pm
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1