The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:40am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,489
Another DVBOA play



Is this a NFHS 10.6.7 situation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 04:20am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,763
Sure looks like it!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 04:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Sure looks like it!
I agree. I'm charging white #3 with the foul on this play.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 07:22am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,275
Defenders did nothing wrong. What did the trail call on this play?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
Should be two fouls on white. after all, if we can have a multiple foul by the defense, we should have the mirror image by the offensive player.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Iron City, TN
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to reffish
Don't think we can have multiple fouls by one player, but should have PC.

Last edited by reffish; Mon Jul 01, 2013 at 08:50am. Reason: .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Defenders did nothing wrong. What did the trail call on this play?
My guess is he called a block since he's pointing at the players on the floor as opposed to just coming up with a PC signal.

I'm a bit mystified as to why the L didn't put air in his whistle on this play. Not even a flinch. This could be a number of things but "no call" wouldn't appear to be on the menu.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 09:00am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
It's possible that the trail called a push on the trailing defender.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 09:17am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
It's possible that the trail called a push on the trailing defender.
Good point. He did push him. But with the title I only focused on the two defenders in front. But then again without the information on the tape, it is hard to tell what the official actually called.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 09:19am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
It's possible that the trail called a push on the trailing defender.
Didn't even pick that up on the first viewing. Yes, that could be a possibility.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 09:20am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Didn't even pick that up on the first viewing. Yes, that could be a possibility.
It's a pretty big push, too.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
Is it just me or does he say "block" right after the whistle? I have block on B42.
__________________
There are two kinds of actuaries: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,688
I looked at it and thought charge.

Expecting a trick answer, I looked at it over and over trying to see if either defender did anything illegal. They had two feet down, in the path, were not moving, and didn't have their legs extended. I could find nothing they did wrong.

Despite some that believe it is required, there is no requirement that a charge/PC foul occur in the chest. The offensive player knocks two legal defenders off their spot. That is a charge (or maybe a no call)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
I agree with your assessment of the defenders, except for them not having legs extended. It appears to me as if the offensive player's head and shoulders are past B42's torso before any contact is made between their lower bodies. This suggests to me that B42's legs are outside his frame and the reason I have a block. However, based on responses so far, I appear to be in the minority here.
__________________
There are two kinds of actuaries: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 297
NCAA 10-1-8 "A dribbler shall neither charge into nor contact an opponent in the
dribbler’s path nor attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an
opponent and a boundary, unless the space is sufficient to provide a reasonable
chance for the dribbler to pass through without contact."

I know NFHS has a similar rule and I do not think the offensive player had enough space to make it between the two defenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screening plays from our friends at the DVBOA JetMetFan Basketball 58 Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:17pm
DVBOA...Phantom travels JetMetFan Basketball 28 Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:27am
DVBOA...Fans & noise makers JetMetFan Basketball 15 Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:34pm
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1