![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() and an offensive player decides to clothesline himself on my arm, what did I do wrong? Here is what 4-23-1 says: "A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip, or leg into the path of the opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs." Shouldn't we read "extending" in this case as happening once the dribbler has started on his path? As in, the dribbler is blowing past me so I extend my arm into his path to stop him. If my arms are extended before the defenders path intersects mine, how is this not legal? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
I do not recall that the player in question was clotheslined and what I saw was a normal position with their body. Hard to tell anything else, but contact was certainly with the leg of one player and the lower body on the other.
As BNR stated, it sounds like you are making up an interpretation here. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All interpretations are, by definition, made up. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Are you trying to learn how to properly adjudicate a play or win a battle of semantics?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm simply asking if the rule can be read and understood a different way. I read all the case plays involving 4-23-1, and none of them explain whether "extending arm, hip, leg, etc. into the opponents path" means "extending those extremities after the dribblers path takes him into the defenders extremity" or "extending those extremities before the dribblers path takes him into the defenders extremity". If the first, then the call would be a block/hold/illegal use of hands. If the latter, the call would not penalize a legal defender. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It's also a foul if a vertical defender brings his arms down in front of him and the shooter jumps and contacts the defender's arms. Defenders are entitled to the verticle space within their body width.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jul 01, 2013 at 03:16pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the contact is in the torso, then it's a charge despite the outstretched arms. (In both cases assuming other requirements are met) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Bravo ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Screening plays from our friends at the DVBOA | JetMetFan | Basketball | 58 | Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:17pm |
| DVBOA...Phantom travels | JetMetFan | Basketball | 28 | Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:27am |
| DVBOA...Fans & noise makers | JetMetFan | Basketball | 15 | Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:34pm |
| Public Address announcer/ Play by play | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 34 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm |
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |