![]() |
|
|
|||
It's possible that the trail called a push on the trailing defender.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Didn't even pick that up on the first viewing. Yes, that could be a possibility.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I looked at it and thought charge.
Expecting a trick answer, I looked at it over and over trying to see if either defender did anything illegal. They had two feet down, in the path, were not moving, and didn't have their legs extended. I could find nothing they did wrong. Despite some that believe it is required, there is no requirement that a charge/PC foul occur in the chest. The offensive player knocks two legal defenders off their spot. That is a charge (or maybe a no call)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I agree with your assessment of the defenders, except for them not having legs extended. It appears to me as if the offensive player's head and shoulders are past B42's torso before any contact is made between their lower bodies. This suggests to me that B42's legs are outside his frame and the reason I have a block. However, based on responses so far, I appear to be in the minority here.
__________________
There are two kinds of actuaries: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data... |
|
|||
NCAA 10-1-8 "A dribbler shall neither charge into nor contact an opponent in the
dribbler’s path nor attempt to dribble between two opponents or between an opponent and a boundary, unless the space is sufficient to provide a reasonable chance for the dribbler to pass through without contact." I know NFHS has a similar rule and I do not think the offensive player had enough space to make it between the two defenders. |
|
|||
Toward the end of the first showing of the play on the video, even though a white jerseyed player goes to get the ball, it appears the white players are moving away from the endline and the black players are moving toward inbounding the ball which would indicate the foul called was a charge on the ball handler.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule: 4-7-2 c. There must be reasonable space between two defensive players or a defensive player and a boundary line to allow the dribbler to continue in his/her path. If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater responsibility for the contact. This seems like the poster play for this rule, unless you call the push first. |
|
|||
Ok guys, do you have a charging foul on white 13? Or do you get the first foul, a push by Black 0? Is this a situation where you call both?
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
If you rule that B1 pushed A1 how would you justify also calling a foul on A1 for subsequent contact?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Screening plays from our friends at the DVBOA | JetMetFan | Basketball | 58 | Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:17pm |
DVBOA...Phantom travels | JetMetFan | Basketball | 28 | Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:27am |
DVBOA...Fans & noise makers | JetMetFan | Basketball | 15 | Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:34pm |
Public Address announcer/ Play by play | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 34 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm |
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |