![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
So you're directly behind the defender and you see the offensive player knock him to the floor and land on top, but you make no call because the contact may have been with the ball.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I had a play earlier this year, which I believe I posted in a similar thread:
A2 goes up for a rebound with B2 in front of him. A2 lands and then proceeds to extend the ball with both hands and create enough contact to displace B2 and knock him to the floor. I called a TC foul and signaled a push though what I was really calling was a PC. Nobody in the gym said a word and many probably assumed I was calling the "over the back" foul that we all know and love. I felt I needed to get something here and I would make the call again. A2 gained an advantage not intended by the rules when he created contact that displaced B2 and moved him off of his entitled spot on the floor. I didnt view it as intentional or flagrant but as illegal. Obviously many here think this is not supported by rule but I've been down that road before and feel comfortable with the call and, as I stated, would make it again in a similar situation. As for the play in the OP I'm having a hard time imagining a situation where the offensive player lands and ONLY makes contact with the ball and that contact being enough to displace the defender facing them and make them fall to the floor. But if it happens as I'm reading it I'm likely no-calling it as the defender would seem to have ample opportunity to make a play on the ball. ETA- Just to clarify on the play where I had a whistle A2 extended the ball and shoved B2 in the back. Last edited by VaTerp; Tue Mar 12, 2013 at 03:28pm. |
|
||||
A1 driving the lane, collects the ball and jumps off of one foot for a jump stop. B1 has been in position since Friday, and uses his hands to protect his future children from the imminent collision. A1 sees he's about to commit a foul, so uses the ball to push B1 out of the way as A1 lands where B1 was previously standing.
I'm calling this a PC, as I'm certain this isn't a nit the local powers want picked.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm calling this a PC too and not thinking twice about it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
What ??? Kid's Get Angry, Pick Up Their Ball, And Go Home All The Time ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 12, 2013 at 04:18pm. |
|
|||
It's Not Just Academic ...
Note: This discussion does have some merit. It's the difference between no free throws for a player control foul, or two free throws taken by the best free throw shooter on the team for a technical foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I'm not talking about guessing as far as the contact. I'm saying if there is contact and the defender is stationary but you cannot see if the contact was with a hand or the ball in the hand it doesn't matter. The call is the same.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I am pretty sure the defination of a Technical Foul includes the phrase..A non contact foul by a player, and also an intentional or flagrant contact foul while the ball is dead except a foul by an airborne shooter. So since the situation with the offensive player pushing off with the ball isn't a dead ball foul, or a non contact foul, my inclination would to go with a PC foul, or possibly an intentional foul. In my opinion you can't really pass on this. This could fall under the non basketball play and you could get away with the Intentional, but I would probably go with PC.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Hard contact, no foul... You know what happens next... | McMac | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:21pm |
Foul or incidental contact? | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Fri Sep 25, 2009 02:13pm |
foul or incidental contact | CecilOne | Soccer | 6 | Tue Aug 05, 2003 01:45pm |
Foul or incidental contact? | Buckley11 | Basketball | 1 | Sat Mar 01, 2003 06:39pm |
contact fair or foul | grizzlierbear | Soccer | 2 | Wed Jun 06, 2001 01:09pm |