The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 12:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I don't always agree with jar, but when I do, I drink Dos Equis

I agree with just another ref. I'll add that it's possible the official saw something you didn't (contact). Or, he just missed it and thought he saw something you didn't.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:04pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I agree with just another ref. I'll add that it's possible the official saw something you didn't (contact). Or, he just missed it and thought he saw something you didn't.
Always listen to Adam. I am qualified to comment here, having just returned from Mexico.


Either way, a Dos Equis couldn't hurt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I agree with just another ref. I'll add that it's possible the official saw something you didn't (contact). Or, he just missed it and thought he saw something you didn't.
This is true. I was wondering about how the play should be ruled, as I saw it, that the contact was only with the ball.

And to be clear, I never meant to suggest there was anything intentional about it. When I say she "rams" our player, it was just her momentum carrying her into her, - though it was a pretty aggressive move and I felt like she completely initiated the contact.

Thanks for the info guys.

Last edited by parrot; Mon Mar 11, 2013 at 01:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrot View Post
This is true. I was wondering about how the play should be ruled, as I saw it, that the contact was only with the ball.

And to be clear, I never meant to suggest there was anything intentional about it. When I say she "rams" our player, it was just her momentum carrying her into her, - though it was a pretty aggressive move and I felt like she completely initiated the contact.

Thanks for the info guys.
I'll add that I think bob is right. If the defender didn't have LGP and moved into the opponent's path, forcing the opponent to brace her fall with the ball, I'm calling a block.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 01:47pm
Official Fiveum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eurasia - no, Myasia
Posts: 302
Question

If "the hand is part of the ball", is the ball part of the hand?
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I'll add that I think bob is right. If the defender didn't have LGP and moved into the opponent's path, forcing the opponent to brace her fall with the ball, I'm calling a block.
Like I said, I'm no official, but I do lurk here and try to understand the rules. In my view she was in textbook LGP and all her movements were completely legal. The ballhandler was quite a bit bigger and drove right at her trying to get to the hoop. She took maybe 2-3 steps back, then stood her ground with her arms out at her sides, at which point the ballhandler jumped right into the middle of her chest with the ball, sending her ***-over-teakettle.

IMO, this was an easy PC foul for probably 90+% of the guys here, and probably the other two guys on the floor at the time as well (the whole ball thing notwithstanding). We have this official pretty regularly. I don't recall her ever calling a PC fall unless it was absolutely beyond question. If you want that call from her, you better have been in that spot long enough to be receiving mail and have a cable hookup.

Last edited by parrot; Mon Mar 11, 2013 at 02:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrot View Post
Like I said, I'm no official, but I do lurk here and try to understand the rules. In my view she was in textbook LGP and all her movements were completely legal. The ballhandler was quite a bit bigger and drove right at her trying to get to the hoop. She took maybe 2-3 steps back, then stood her ground with her arms out at her sides, at which point the ballhandler jumped right into the middle of her chest with the ball, sending her ***-over-teakettle.

IMO, this was an easy PC foul for probably 90+% of the guys here, and probably the other two guys on the floor at the time as well (the whole ball thing notwithstanding). We have this official pretty regularly. I don't recall her ever calling a PC fall unless it was absolutely beyond question. If you want that call from her, you better have been in that spot long enough to be receiving mail and have a cable hookup.
Getting mail and cable.. that was funny...LOL
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Getting mail and cable.. that was funny...LOL
Was listening to the radio broadcast of the NC State/Florida St game on Saturday and the broadcaster said, "there so long, he was paying rent!"
That made me laugh.

PS the play was called a block. I would love to see it. About 11 mins left in 2nd half.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Is this deja vu? I remember this discussion from before.

So here is a play I've had before. The player with the ball uses the ball to push his defender back to clear space.
What are you calling?
A No call
B Player control foul
C Technical foul
D Something else
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I'll add that I think bob is right. If the defender didn't have LGP and moved into the opponent's path, forcing the opponent to brace her fall with the ball, I'm calling a block.
Please explain how you have a blocking foul when the defender didn't make any contact with the ball handler? Lah me. (I miss him.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrot View Post
This is true. I was wondering about how the play should be ruled, as I saw it, that the contact was only with the ball.

And to be clear, I never meant to suggest there was anything intentional about it. When I say she "rams" our player, it was just her momentum carrying her into her, - though it was a pretty aggressive move and I felt like she completely initiated the contact.

Thanks for the info guys.
The ball cannot foul anyone! Your initial post was correct that there must be physical contact between two opposing players in order to call a personal foul.
An unsporting act of deliberately striking an opponent with the ball can only be deemed a technical foul, BY RULE.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 09:26pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I agree with just another ref. I'll add that it's possible the official saw something you didn't (contact). Or, he just missed it and thought he saw something you didn't.
Now I get the joke. HA!!!

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard contact, no foul... You know what happens next... McMac Basketball 7 Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:21pm
Foul or incidental contact? rfp Basketball 19 Fri Sep 25, 2009 02:13pm
foul or incidental contact CecilOne Soccer 6 Tue Aug 05, 2003 01:45pm
Foul or incidental contact? Buckley11 Basketball 1 Sat Mar 01, 2003 06:39pm
contact fair or foul grizzlierbear Soccer 2 Wed Jun 06, 2001 01:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1