
Thu Feb 14, 2013, 02:38pm
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,953
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
If you have an inadvertent whistle, the casebook says you do not grant those timeouts.
Here is a play that shows what I am talking about.
Timeouts Not Charged
A.R. 155. Player A1 is airborne and momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds. A1, while airborne and in control of the ball, requests a timeout. The official:
(1) Inadvertently blows the whistle; or
(2) Blows the whistle and immediately grants a timeout.
RULING: In both (1) and (2), the officials shall not recognize this request. The official’s whistle is an inadvertent whistle that caused the ball to become dead. Play will be resumed at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to Team A, the team in control, at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located. Before placing the ball at Team A’s disposal for a throw-in, the official is permitted to inquire as to whether Team A still wants a timeout.
(Rule 4-39, 4-53.1.a, 5-12.1.c and 7-5.16)
Peace
|
Yep, time-outs incorrectly granted to a team not entitled to request one are treated as IW in NCAA-Men's.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|