![]() |
|
|
|||
Time out
White team has the ball trapped in the backcourt, Coach requests timeout as player makes long pass to front court. Official blows whistle and grants timeout. Long pass is stolen by Red player. Red team extremely upset. What is official to do correctly in this situation.
|
|
|||
If the official granted the timeout as the player had possession than they grant the timeout. That is on the judgement of the calling official. Just because the whistle might have been while the ball in the air changes nothing.
Now even if the whistle came after pass was given, by rule you still are supposed to grant the timeout. It would be unfortunate, but that is the rule. Or you could do the common sense thing and have an inadvertent whistle and either give it to the defensive team or go to the AP arrow. Not saying that is the thing to do, but people suggest that option often. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
So if the official incorrectly granted a timeout while the ball was in flight during a pass, the rule is that the team in control receives a throw-in from the OOB spot nearest to the location of the ball. In this case that is where it was last in contact with a player on the court, so from where the pass was thrown. Pay no attention to the above post by Rut that is wrong by rule! |
|
|||
This is a gray area which needs an editorial adjustment. Nothing in the timeout process is on the list of things which cause the ball to become dead except the whistle.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Video por favor
Georgia/Ole Miss, 2:57 of 2nd half.
A1 elbows B1 to the face after time-out request was recognized but before whistle is blown. Ruling: FF1 Technical charged to A1 for dead ball contact. Don't know who's argument this advances but I know it is relevant to this conversation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Feb 17, 2013 at 02:23am. |
|
|||
Considering this play wouldn't change anyones thinking, would it? What if the elbow was before the whistle but after a traveling violation?
By rule, the request, recognized or not, does not make the ball dead. In practice, apparently to most it does. (player request a split second before landing out of bounds) I guess we all have to make up our minds whether this will be the case, but I don't see how you can have it both ways. Editorial clarification would be swell.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Point Well Taken ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
It sounded to me like you were advocating the black and white angle here, suggesting the elbow timing in relation to the whistle was important. If a player threw an elbow to the face, what does the timeout, or the whistle, have to do with it. He should be prepared to deal with whatever consequences that follow.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Game clock shows time remaining in time-out -- against the rules? | Lotto | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:10am |
Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm |
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster | SoInZebra | Basketball | 122 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm |
Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |