![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
NFHS has stated to revert to previous language even though it didn't make these changes for the current book. Very poor by the NFHS and tough situation for the officials.
|
|
|||
|
In a similar situation (4.19.8 F) the Team A throw-in is released and before the ball is legally touched a double foul occurs. As with an inadvertent whistle, play resumes from the POI. In this caseplay the ball is given back to Team A not on the basis of team control; but because the throw-in had not ended. Evidently the ruling is based on what we have been told that team control on a throw-in only applies to fouls by a member of the throw-in team. My guess is (although I don't like it) that if the IW occurred after the legal deflection we would go AP. But in the OP, the IW came after A2 had possesion so the POI would be Team A ball. Your thoughts?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
IW are usually so rare that it does not matter. And I do not think I have ever seen one on this situation. Heck the officials in the OP could have just gone with the violation and moved on and it would not have been an issue. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
All this brings to mind one of the worst calls we must make, by rule. A lead by 1 with seconds left in the game, A1 is trying to dribble out the clock in the backcourt, closely guarded by B1. A1 loses his footing, and the ball rolls free toward B's basket. But before B1 can reach the ball and score the winning layup, the whistle inexplicably sounds.
OOPS By rule, not only is B denied the uncontested layup, but A gets the ball back. I would like to see a change here. In the event of an inadvertent whistle while the ball is loose, it shall be a judgment call by the official which team shall be awarded possession.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
What would the NCAA ruling be on the OP?
|
|
|||
|
In the NCAA there is true TC on a throw-in per 4-15-1.2c: When a player of that team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
FED 4-12-2d "when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in."
|
|
|||
|
But the Fed said that is not the case, it was a mis-print.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
The team control only applies to fouls on the offense on the throw in. When it was tipped the throw in was over and there was no team control, therefore unless the whistle happened when team A had the ball, it would be an AP.
|
|
|||
|
Here is another element (sorry if someone said this already), we are not going to start a 10 second back court count if either B or A touches the ball in this situation, so that is why I do not know why we automatically give the ball back to Team A if an inadvertent whistle took place and the ball was essentially loose.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This just made the light bulb come on in my head. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inadvertent whistle | oldschool | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Boni | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Suudy | Football | 2 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am |
| My first inadvertent whistle | OverAndBack | Football | 22 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Rev.Ref63 | Basketball | 29 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm |