View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:09am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.
You would go to the AP arrow whenever there isn't team control or a try is missed.

The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied.

What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control.

The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote