![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?
I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the try is good, then the POI is a throw in along the endline for B. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied. What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control. The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
After thinking about this, team control on a throw in only applies to fouls, so if the whistle was blown while the ball was in the air, after B1 touches, and after hitting the backboard I would go with AP, if blown while in A1 possession then go with A's ball.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Is this correct?
|
|
|||
|
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
NFHS has stated to revert to previous language even though it didn't make these changes for the current book. Very poor by the NFHS and tough situation for the officials.
|
|
|||
|
In a similar situation (4.19.8 F) the Team A throw-in is released and before the ball is legally touched a double foul occurs. As with an inadvertent whistle, play resumes from the POI. In this caseplay the ball is given back to Team A not on the basis of team control; but because the throw-in had not ended. Evidently the ruling is based on what we have been told that team control on a throw-in only applies to fouls by a member of the throw-in team. My guess is (although I don't like it) that if the IW occurred after the legal deflection we would go AP. But in the OP, the IW came after A2 had possesion so the POI would be Team A ball. Your thoughts?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
IW are usually so rare that it does not matter. And I do not think I have ever seen one on this situation. Heck the officials in the OP could have just gone with the violation and moved on and it would not have been an issue. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
What would the NCAA ruling be on the OP?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inadvertent whistle | oldschool | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Boni | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Suudy | Football | 2 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am |
| My first inadvertent whistle | OverAndBack | Football | 22 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Rev.Ref63 | Basketball | 29 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm |