The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 01:51am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Intent and purpose of the rule. For this purpose, the team in control is the team which last had the ball, even if it is loose at the whistle. If you give a loose ball back to a team which last made any pass, I would also give it back to that team if the pass happened to be a throw-in pass.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post

Still with that being said I still think that you go to the AP as all the rule did was change to what we classify a foul, not what happens in the situation with the ball.
Peace
All they wanted the rule change to do was change how a foul by the team with the throw-in was handled. What it did was give the team with the throw-in team control.

In this situation, there has not been an event which ends A's TC which started on the throw-in before the inadvertent whistle occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 10:57am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.
From the time the try is released until someone secures the rebound.

If the try is good, then the POI is a throw in along the endline for B.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?

I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it.
You would go to the AP arrow whenever there isn't team control or a try is missed.

The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied.

What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control.

The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:13am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
After thinking about this, team control on a throw in only applies to fouls, so if the whistle was blown while the ball was in the air, after B1 touches, and after hitting the backboard I would go with AP, if blown while in A1 possession then go with A's ball.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
After thinking about this, team control on a throw in only applies to fouls,
Reference, please.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Reference, please.
Everything the NFHS has distributed regarding the rule change. Of course, we won't find it in the actual rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:31am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
They never want to do that for some reason. They always want to be cute and adopt a rule but do not want to adopt the language which would be so much easier.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:43am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct?
Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:47am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Is this correct?
Yes. A gets the ball. Still have team control in an interrupted dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:48am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Yes. A gets the ball. Still have team control in an interrupted dribble.
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:55am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
By rule, TC would continue. By intent as expressed by the NFHS, it seems to be up in the air.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 11:57am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
The team control only applies to fouls on the offense on the throw in. When it was tipped the throw in was over and there was no team control, therefore unless the whistle happened when team A had the ball, it would be an AP.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 12:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Here is another element (sorry if someone said this already), we are not going to start a 10 second back court count if either B or A touches the ball in this situation, so that is why I do not know why we automatically give the ball back to Team A if an inadvertent whistle took place and the ball was essentially loose.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent whistle oldschool Basketball 3 Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm
Inadvertent Whistle Boni Basketball 7 Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm
Inadvertent Whistle Suudy Football 2 Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am
My first inadvertent whistle OverAndBack Football 22 Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm
Inadvertent Whistle Rev.Ref63 Basketball 29 Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1