The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Substitute Deceitful

During lengthy substitution ball is put in play and Team B on defense only has 4 players. I was hoping B5 would just walk onto court and we would continue on. Then there is a turnover and B5 comes onto court and gets out ahead of everyone and catches long pass.. WHACK... I believe it's player T, but I can't find rule reference.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2012, 11:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Case 10.1.9
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 07:32am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,220
Case 10.1.9 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Case 10.1.9
Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their
coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will
resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1
attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to
B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass. RULING: A technical foul
is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court
at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is
true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once
a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.

Note: I've never minded copying, and pasting, for those who may not have a rulebook, or casebook (players, coaches, fans), and for those officials who may be at their computer without their books, but eventually my 2011-12 PDF NFHS rulebook, and casebook, is going to become outdated, and I'm not a great typist (keyboarder). I sure hope that someone else takes over my Forum duties. An esteemed Forum member did offer me their password to use the NFHS Arbiter site, but the new setup was not very conducive to perusing the books. I would share the name of this esteemed member with you, but then I'd have to kill you. Thanks esteemed member.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 20, 2012 at 07:46am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
"...B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to
B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass..."

Does this mean the player was standing/sitting out of bounds near the bench OR actually on the court inside the side line being sneaky?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLH17 View Post
"...B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to
B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass..."

Does this mean the player was standing/sitting out of bounds near the bench OR actually on the court inside the side line being sneaky?
The former.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 10:02am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Once you start the game 5 on 4, a bench player running onto the court has committed a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
Once you start the game 5 on 4, a bench player running onto the court has committed a technical foul.
Not always (ignoring the oxymoron "bench player"). See 10.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 10:05am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,220
Confused In Connecticut ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
Once you start the game 5 on 4, a bench player running onto the court has committed a technical foul.
Even if it's not deceitful, there is no obvious advantage gained, and if it's not after a timeout?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 20, 2012 at 10:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 10:15am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,220
Peppermint Twist ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Even if it's not deceitful, there is no obvious advantage gained, and if it's not after a timeout?
What a thought provoking question, BillyMac. You are obviously as intelligent as you are handsome. What if it's not deceitful, there is no obvious advantage gained, and if it is after a timeout?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 12:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
Once you start the game 5 on 4, a bench player running onto the court has committed a technical foul.
Not necessarily. To whom does the case play say to charge this technical foul?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
Once you start the game 5 on 4, a bench player running onto the court has committed a technical foul.

10.3.2 SITUATION B:

After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play.

RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5's return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 01:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,220
You Make The Call ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What if it's not deceitful, there is no obvious advantage gained, and if it is after a timeout?
After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and Team B, after a charged timeout for Team A, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 20, 2012, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and Team B, after a charged timeout for Team A, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play.
You can't have both simultaneously. If play is being resumed after a TO, then enforce that part of the rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
re-substitute phansen Basketball 4 Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:46pm
substitute or not som44 Basketball 27 Wed Nov 08, 2006 03:13pm
Unreported substitute rwest Softball 8 Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:57am
Substitute Forksref Football 5 Sun Sep 04, 2005 01:45am
illegal substitute dpomeroy Baseball 2 Tue Jun 15, 2004 10:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1