![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And yes we are not talking about a rebound, we are talking about a player going to the basket off a dribble or a pass. I have never seen a player do that without first gathering the ball. And gathering the ball does not just involve both hands and you never heard me suggest that such action involved both hands. Gather can and does involve one hand. And certainly did not see anything different this weekend. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
||||
|
Quote:
![]() Sorry, I was just looking for clarification on the sort of situation for which you'd offer assistance. No worries.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If I have ruled that the player was not "shooting" and you come in and tell me they were shooting on the foul, I would be a little puzzled. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
But I think Nevada's point is that it's also possible to have a gather WITHOUT the habitual motion. And if that's true, then it's not correct by rule to award free throws on the gather. In my experience, the habitual motion usually begins immediately after the gather; nevertheless, it is AFTER the gather. I think in real time, during a drive to the basket the two occur so quickly that it's very difficult, if not impossible, to gather and then be fouled without starting the act of shooting. But by rule, the gather alone is not sufficient to award the free throws. JMHO. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Exactly, if one has played the game you know when you were on a dribble drive to the basket & gathered the ball below the FT line extended that you were shooting the ball. And if its passed or a timeout is called then its no shots. After a defender fouls a player who has gathered the ball (on a drive) our job isnt to say well his arms werent moving upward or he didnt look like he was shooting. He was shooting unless he passes the ball is a good rule of thumb.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Mon Jul 16, 2012 at 01:23pm. |
|
|||
|
At the risk of putting words in tref's mouth...one situation that fits what he is talking about would be a spin/curl move into the key toward the C. The C will see the contact and call the foul, but I have often said something along the lines of "We're shooting 2, right partner?" or "You had him going up, right partner?" simply because that is a play that we need to get right. I am not telling my partner what to do/call, just offering information. Majority of the time, partner simply says "Yep" and away we go. On occasion, partner has stopped and asked what I meant and we have gotten it right after a quick discussion. I think that's the kind of thing tref is talking about...
As for the difference between what JRutledge and Nevadaref are saying, imo it is shooting motion if they have gathered the ball while going to the basket. Just gathering the ball isn't enough to put them on the line. My standard response to a coach questioning that call is "2 hands on the ball going to the basket is shooting motion, coach." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also can occur on an immediate drive from the Cs side where they have the foul but cant see the gather due to positioning. But the L & T can clearly see that it was gathered. I use the same phrases as well. Putting it in the form of a question to allow the calling official to change their mind.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Last Second shot | Clark Kent | Basketball | 20 | Thu Jan 13, 2011 03:43pm |
| When is the shot over? | Coach Bill | Basketball | 21 | Tue Mar 02, 2010 06:00pm |
| Last Sec Shot | nukewhistle | Basketball | 18 | Sat Dec 29, 2007 09:55pm |
| Last second shot | wyo96 | Basketball | 18 | Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:45am |
| Shot Clock Problem, Without the Shot Clock!! | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jun 05, 2002 10:09am |