![]() |
|
|||
Correctable Error question
Hello everyone! It's been a while but I came across a situation that made me think of you guys as I felt someone here would know the right answer.
Was watching an AAU game recently where team A is up two points and Team B has the ball. With about 30 seconds to go team B player steps back and hits a shot. Ref A signals 3 and ref B signals 2. The clock only saw ref B so put two points on the board. The coach for team A played the scoreboard and played for the last shot. They missed and team B shot a prayer as time expired with 55-55 on the board. Team B's coach goes up to Ref A and points out that he signaled a 3. Ref A agrees without consulting Ref B and they put a point on the board to give team B the win. There was no stoppage of play until the final buzzer as I've been able to find items referring to a timeframe for correctable errors but only as it relates to a stoppage of play. I had no horse in the game and was watching as the winner played the team I was rooting for the next day in the championship. Thanks for any replies. Last edited by coach-rec; Sun Apr 01, 2012 at 11:18am. |
|
|||
As I read this post and Case Book 2-10.1, Situation L, the error is that of the scorer and can be changed by the official "any time until the final score has been approved." Award the point. Game over - sorry coach A.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Two ...
In most situations, I usually signal a two by not signaling a three.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Fix The Mistake ...
Once the officials decide, this "mistake" can be corrected at any time until both of them leave the visual confines of the court.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 01, 2012 at 12:11pm. |
|
|||
Correctable Error ???
I believe that if neither signaled a three, then it becomes a correctable error, and a correctable error time frame, for the officials to correct.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Is This A Conundrum Solution?
A) Does Casebook 2.10.1L speak to this point?:
"A1 attempts a goal from behind the three-point line: (a) but the covering official fails to give the successful signal after the ball goes through the basket, and the scorer records only two points; or (b) and the covering official gives the successful signal, but the scorer records only two points. Team B inbounds the ball and proceeds to score. The coach of Team A goes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss the error. RULING: In (a), the error of not awarding three points is correctible as it was detected prior to the second live ball after the error. The extra point is scored, the 60-second timeout is not charged and the game continues from the point of interruption. In (b), it is a mistake by the scorer which can be corrected any time until the final score has been approved." B) What were four eyes doing on the ball? ![]()
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
||||
Quote:
B) Not uncommon, depending on where the shot is taken. FT extended on L's side, both officials need to see this. That said, apparently they both weren't on the ball, as one got it wrong.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Yeah But...
Quote:
One, as lead, would signal "Two" on every -- every! not just in what some might call the grey area where the two PCA's intersect -- shot around the arc that he, from his position on the endline, determined was not a three. Every. That was the first half. In spite of a tactful halftime chat about primary coverage area around the arc, the second half featured the same. ![]() The other -- and this was in a post-season state tournament first-round game -- a partner in pre-game was surprized to learn that C didn't mirror T's three-point attempt, and vice-versa. "But I always do that." ![]() Worked hard this year so that crews avoided what I call "The Fuzzy 3/5", i.e., when two arms go in the air on 3 point attempts and initiating 5 second counts. Not knowing when to turn off-ball results in a Fuzzy 3/5 where awareness of PCA boundaries are vague, unclear, not known, ignored, or otherwise "fuzzy," and off-ball coverage suffers. This condition seems indicative of ball-watching instead of surveilling PCA for off-ball activity. My take on it.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
Have a few follow-up questions... Is there a link to Case Book 2-10.1, Situation L? I cannot find it in a quick search. Is the correctable error timeframe to the next stoppage of play in every situation? Thanks for the responses. I figured it was the right call. Only thing I can honestly say I would have preferred to see was ref A discuss it with ref B before making a call. Unless it was his call, he knew that and could overrule it but I didn't really care to look into it that far to understand. |
|
||||
Quote:
As for the time frame. A CE for a mis-scored 3 pt basket can be fixed until the ball becomes live following the second dead ball. The made basket that was scored wrongly is the first dead ball. In this case, the second dead ball was the end of the game, so the CE time limit never expired.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
Quote:
As for marking threes, I don't mark them out of my primary even if I had a chance to peek; unless my partner doesn't.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. Last edited by Adam; Sun Apr 01, 2012 at 03:41pm. Reason: stupid spelling error |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
No Even on the Downhill Side Yet!
Snaqs, you're not even close to peaking yet. Heck, you're just getting started!
![]() (Some partners you work with might have...)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable error question | jTheUmp | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jan 24, 2011 07:23pm |
Question regarding Correctable Error | ccsalmon | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 07, 2010 03:24am |
Correctable Error question | artmoe | Basketball | 11 | Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:19pm |
Correctable Error Question | orangeump | Basketball | 4 | Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:38pm |
Question about correctable error | Damian | Basketball | 19 | Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:15am |