The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I thought that it was a relevant citation. So did JetMetFan.



just another ref's post is worth further investigation. At this point, I don't have a strong opinion, so I'll just sit back and be a spectator. Extra butter, please.
Thanks for the Rule references....

When I read Rule 6.7 Art 9 (Exception) - it reads that the '...ball does not become dead until until the try or tap ends...' So does the touch of A2 cause the original 'try' to end? IMHO - I think not.

Also, in the same section, the Note: If A1's try is "legally" touched in flight (does not differentiate by whom), the goal counts if made, if the period ends BEFORE or AFTER the legal touching.

This tells me that the 'legal touch' by A2 would still allow the goal to count either before/after the period ending w/the horn sounding.

Hence, in both scenarios A2 or B2 'legal' touch (according to the rules) appears to allow the goal to count !
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Off Ball Foul, Basket Counts? stiffler3492 Basketball 16 Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:05am
What Counts? The_Rookie Basketball 6 Tue Nov 01, 2011 05:58am
Visible Counts PAT THE REF Basketball 8 Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:02pm
The Big "X"... And It Counts!!! isneths Basketball 11 Wed Jul 14, 2004 04:35am
counts? Troward Basketball 12 Fri Nov 22, 2002 05:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1