![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
I realize that this is probably more of a 'test question' rather than a situation that is less likely to occur? Then again, as they say, anything can happen in our game and we have to be prepared.
Does the basket count? 1 second left in a quarter/half/game, and A1 jumps to release a 'try for goal'. After the ball leaves A1's hand, the horn now goes off. After the horn goes off the ball is 'deflected' (on its upward flight) by either A2 or B2 and the ball then goes into the basket. I say the goal counts since neither the horn nor the 'deflection' causes the ball to become dead. Rule references are appreciated. Thanks ! |
|
|||
Quote:
My logic? If it goes off A2, who gets credit for the basket (assuming this happened in the middle of the quarter) -- A2. This "tip" or "redirect" makes it A2's shot. If it goes off B2, it's still A1's shot.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
4-43-4 ...
The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the
throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
When A1's try touches A2's hand, it becomes a pass. The deflection by A2 is a tap, which came after the ball was dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Here's scenario #2
4.41.4 SITUATION A:
While the ball is in flight on a try for goal by A1: (a) B1 *touches the ball and then time expires; or (b) time expires and then B1 touches the ball. The ball continues in flight and enters Team A's basket. RULING: The goal is scored in both (a) and (b), as B1's touching did not cause the try to end. However, in both (a) and (b), if B1's touching is either goaltending or basket interference, the ball becomes dead and two points will be awarded. (6-7-9 Exception a; 9-11, 9-12) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Off Ball Foul, Basket Counts? | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 16 | Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:05am |
What Counts? | The_Rookie | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 01, 2011 05:58am |
Visible Counts | PAT THE REF | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:02pm |
The Big "X"... And It Counts!!! | isneths | Basketball | 11 | Wed Jul 14, 2004 04:35am |
counts? | Troward | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 22, 2002 05:32pm |