![]() |
|
|
|||
4-43-4 ...
The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the
throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Definition of pass: ball thrown, bounced, rolled, to another player.......
If not that, what is it? For once, I'm open to suggestion.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
There's a case play which tells us that when the 3 attempt is touched by the teammate inside the arc it counts 2, so I'm applying that logic here, took some liberty in calling it a pass, maybe. But, what else could it be?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Interestingly, neither the NFHS nor the NCAA case book deals with this situation specifically. The closest they come is a try ending when it's apparent it won't be successful.
I think the only way it would happen is if A1 put up a try and while it was on its way up - and near the basket - A2 tried a tap dunk to make sure it goes in. That would seem to satisfy 4-41-1. |
|
|||
Do You Get It Now ???
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
just another ref's post is worth further investigation. At this point, I don't have a strong opinion, so I'll just sit back and be a spectator. Extra butter, please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 25, 2012 at 07:21am. |
|
|||
Quote:
When I read Rule 6.7 Art 9 (Exception) - it reads that the '...ball does not become dead until until the try or tap ends...' So does the touch of A2 cause the original 'try' to end? IMHO - I think not. Also, in the same section, the Note: If A1's try is "legally" touched in flight (does not differentiate by whom), the goal counts if made, if the period ends BEFORE or AFTER the legal touching. This tells me that the 'legal touch' by A2 would still allow the goal to count either before/after the period ending w/the horn sounding. Hence, in both scenarios A2 or B2 'legal' touch (according to the rules) appears to allow the goal to count ! |
|
|||
Rookie Luck ???
bd41flpk: Nice citation. Not bad for a newbie with less than thirty posts.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Off Ball Foul, Basket Counts? | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 16 | Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:05am |
What Counts? | The_Rookie | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 01, 2011 05:58am |
Visible Counts | PAT THE REF | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:02pm |
The Big "X"... And It Counts!!! | isneths | Basketball | 11 | Wed Jul 14, 2004 04:35am |
counts? | Troward | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 22, 2002 05:32pm |