The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 02:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Based on what rule?
Interestingly, neither the NFHS nor the NCAA case book deals with this situation specifically. The closest they come is a try ending when it's apparent it won't be successful.

I think the only way it would happen is if A1 put up a try and while it was on its way up - and near the basket - A2 tried a tap dunk to make sure it goes in. That would seem to satisfy 4-41-1.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 06:59am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Do You Get It Now ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the
throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball
becomes dead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Certainly a rule reference, it just doesn't say what he's asking.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
The closest they come is a try ending when it's apparent it won't be successful.
I thought that it was a relevant citation. So did JetMetFan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
There's a case play which tells us that when the 3 attempt is touched by the teammate inside the arc it counts 2, so I'm applying that logic here, took some liberty in calling it a pass, maybe. But, what else could it be?
just another ref's post is worth further investigation. At this point, I don't have a strong opinion, so I'll just sit back and be a spectator. Extra butter, please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 25, 2012 at 07:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I thought that it was a relevant citation. So did JetMetFan.



just another ref's post is worth further investigation. At this point, I don't have a strong opinion, so I'll just sit back and be a spectator. Extra butter, please.
Thanks for the Rule references....

When I read Rule 6.7 Art 9 (Exception) - it reads that the '...ball does not become dead until until the try or tap ends...' So does the touch of A2 cause the original 'try' to end? IMHO - I think not.

Also, in the same section, the Note: If A1's try is "legally" touched in flight (does not differentiate by whom), the goal counts if made, if the period ends BEFORE or AFTER the legal touching.

This tells me that the 'legal touch' by A2 would still allow the goal to count either before/after the period ending w/the horn sounding.

Hence, in both scenarios A2 or B2 'legal' touch (according to the rules) appears to allow the goal to count !
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 09:10am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Rookie Luck ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bd41flpk View Post
Rule 6.7 Art 9 Note:If A1's try is "legally" touched in flight (does not differentiate by whom), the goal counts if made, if the period ends BEFORE or AFTER the legal touching.
bd41flpk: Nice citation. Not bad for a newbie with less than thirty posts.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 11:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Situation:
A1, losing his balance, launches a prayer from beyond the three point line. His release point is near the floor. B1 is fighting around a screen by A2, and is able to tip the ball as it's released. B1's tip goes off of A2's head and the ball goes in.

The horn sounds between A1's release and B1's tip, and A2 is standing inside the 3 pt line when it hits his head.

1. Does it count.
2. 2 or 3?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 12:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
It Can Happen ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
A1, losing his balance, launches a prayer from beyond the three point line.
bainsey was kind enough to post this last month:



Three for the opponent?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 25, 2012 at 12:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 12:13pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Couldn't one consider A2's deflection as a tap...and thus it would have to be before the horn/light?

Rule 4, Section 41

ART. 5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
ART. 6 . . . A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as in 5-2-5.
ART. 7 . . . The tap starts when the player’s hand(s) touches the ball.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2012, 12:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Couldn't one consider A2's deflection as a tap...and thus it would have to be before the horn/light?

Rule 4, Section 41

ART. 5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
ART. 6 . . . A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as in 5-2-5.
ART. 7 . . . The tap starts when the player’s hand(s) touches the ball.
If it's intentional, sure. I don't think we can do that if it's an accident.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Off Ball Foul, Basket Counts? stiffler3492 Basketball 16 Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:05am
What Counts? The_Rookie Basketball 6 Tue Nov 01, 2011 05:58am
Visible Counts PAT THE REF Basketball 8 Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:02pm
The Big "X"... And It Counts!!! isneths Basketball 11 Wed Jul 14, 2004 04:35am
counts? Troward Basketball 12 Fri Nov 22, 2002 05:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1