![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Simply put, did the defender have a legal position (in the path) at the time the opponent jumped? Yes or No. If they did (in the path), then they satisfied the rule. There is nothing in the rule that says they can no longer move once they have position. "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent."The rule mentions nothing about landing spots....it is all about being in the path. If they are not in the path, they do not have legal position and any movement to get in the path of an airborne opponent would be illegal. The case play being cited to counter this is not relevant...that case is implying the player is not in the path and moves to a new position that puts them in the path after the opponent is airborne. It is not talking about moving in the same path and direction....which is what we have here. Check out this case.... 10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor..... However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. .... (4-19-1, 6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a) Hmmm...sounds like "path" is the key.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
T for a flop? | Rufus | Basketball | 8 | Wed Feb 01, 2012 09:58pm |
Flop | scotties7125 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:14am |
T for the flop | Junker | Basketball | 29 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:44am |
T and the flop | cmathews | Basketball | 12 | Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:27am |
1 and 1 flop | rgaudreau | Basketball | 22 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:11pm |