![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
That I can see but I'm having a hard time seeing a block if A1 was already going to contact B1.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Don't get too hung up on "what might've happened". Let's say A1 is dribbling full speed into the lane, right at B1. B1, seeing A1 outweighs him by 40 lbs., decides to step out of the way at the last moment, but then grabs A1 on the arm as he goes by. Do you still feel bad calling a foul on B1, even though A1 was definitely going to make contact before B1 moved?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
I see your point but the difference in this case is that if A1 was already going to land on B1, B1's stepping back does not change that fact. I cannot see how A1 was disadvantaged or put at any greater risk by B1's action and I do not believe that is the intent of the rule.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() I'm just rehashing the same argument at this point. I still do not believe that is the intent but I understand the rule argument even if I do not agree. Admittedly I have yet to see this so it's all theoretical at this point but if I do I guess I'll grit my teeth and call it a block so that I can move up or not lose games.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Don't do that, it's not good for your whistles, and grinding your teeth will make it harder to eat cookies later.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
You have to stop thinking about it in these terms. It is completely and 100% irrelevant what it was GOING to be. It only matters what it IS. And what it IS is a defender who moves to a spot in A1's path after A1 is airborne. So the defender IS responsible for the contact.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| T for a flop? | Rufus | Basketball | 8 | Wed Feb 01, 2012 09:58pm |
| Flop | scotties7125 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:14am |
| T for the flop | Junker | Basketball | 29 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:44am |
| T and the flop | cmathews | Basketball | 12 | Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:27am |
| 1 and 1 flop | rgaudreau | Basketball | 22 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:11pm |