![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't have my book with me, but it looks like you do. Can you look at the provision for LGP, legal position, and movement? That would be where I would start. Is the book on line anywhere that I can access it? |
|
|||
Quote:
The exact same wording is mentioned in 4-23-5, Guarding a moving opponent without the ball... (d) "If the opponent is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor." In both cases, it does not say legal guarding position. Both sections specifically mention airborne players (with and without the ball), and are separate from the sections involving LGP. This tells me airborne players are handled differently than under "normal" LGP rules.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) Last edited by M&M Guy; Wed Feb 22, 2012 at 02:49pm. Reason: Correct exact wording |
|
|||
Quote:
Simply put, did the defender have a legal position (in the path) at the time the opponent jumped? Yes or No. If they did (in the path), then they satisfied the rule. There is nothing in the rule that says they can no longer move once they have position. "Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent."The rule mentions nothing about landing spots....it is all about being in the path. If they are not in the path, they do not have legal position and any movement to get in the path of an airborne opponent would be illegal. The case play being cited to counter this is not relevant...that case is implying the player is not in the path and moves to a new position that puts them in the path after the opponent is airborne. It is not talking about moving in the same path and direction....which is what we have here. Check out this case.... 10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor..... However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. .... (4-19-1, 6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a) Hmmm...sounds like "path" is the key.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
For the timing yes, but the action being restricted is moving INTO THE PATH....not all movement.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
In the first part of the case play, B1 was in A1's path too, it's just that it was deemed legal because he was there before A1 left the floor. Camron, I know you like to argue, er, discuss, ( ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule is clear that timing of entry to the path is all that matters. There is nothing in the rule or any case play that prohibits movement. No one has yet shown any rule or case that says anything close to it being a foul for a player who is legally in the path before the opponent is airborne to then move away from their opponent. You're adding your own requirements above what the rule requires to get to that conclusion.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 23, 2012 at 02:01am. |
|
|||
Quote:
you say: Quote:
A1 is airborne. Did B1 move? Yes. Did B1 take a position "on that path" (your words, not mine)? Yes. According to your own post, this is not legal. |
|
|||
Quote:
Are you saying that because B1 moved, this turns into a blocking foul on B1? (I'm about two steps away from breaking out stick figure images to see if we can illustrate these points any better...)
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Thu Feb 23, 2012 at 11:41am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
That I can see but I'm having a hard time seeing a block if A1 was already going to contact B1.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
10.6.1 SITUATION C: B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1. RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor..... However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. .... (4-19-1, 6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a) The only distinction being made in both cases is whether B1 obtained the position before or after A1 leaves the floor.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
OK giving this caseplay a closer look, I'm going to retract my previous post.
Here's where the rub is with that caseplay ruling. The ruling qualifies two things that make it a foul on B1, time and location. The time is after A1 leaves the floor and the location is into A1's path from outside of A1's path. In other words, from the ruling. Quote:
In our sample play of doom, B1 is not moving INTO A1's path because he is already there. He moves to a different spot along A1's path but he is still in the path. The timing on when A1 left the floor is irrelevant because B1 has been in the path all along.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
T for a flop? | Rufus | Basketball | 8 | Wed Feb 01, 2012 09:58pm |
Flop | scotties7125 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:14am |
T for the flop | Junker | Basketball | 29 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 09:44am |
T and the flop | cmathews | Basketball | 12 | Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:27am |
1 and 1 flop | rgaudreau | Basketball | 22 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:11pm |